You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finding my calling in life

in #life7 years ago

My boss used to keep telling me
"Always be ready to be the jack of all trades, and master of none"

And another good quote and advice from one of my favourite actors, Jim Caviezel,
"You are not born to stand in, you are born to stand out."

I hope these 2 quotes from these 2 wise men gives you that silver lining of hope that it is totally all right being not able to blend into the society.

I personally hardly blends in with my peers, be it at work or in personal life. I am uniquely blessed to understand different kinds of personalities of others and observe whether I can collaborate with them (it is a matter of team work, not blend in) and define my place in the society as an able bodied individual who contributes positively and uniquely.

I look forward to see what your articles will be in the future.

ps: Wouldn't strengthening German vocabs will enable you to expand your writing in other languages too?

upvoted

Sort:  

Thanks for the comment! I think in the workplace it's definitely advantageous to have people who are good at many things. It sounds like you're one of those people. How did you feel about what your boss commanded you to do?

Haha, I'm already enough of a language nerd without needing encouragement. I'm not sure that all of my readers would appreciate me sprinkling German words into my posts, but I definitely agree that having an awareness of other languages helps you to master your own.

Quite hard at first, as I wasn't very confident, but because he pretty much pushed me to try different things just to discover my ability to complete a task, I find it more fun than doing the same-old,same-old , moreover learning along the way.

None should be "conditioned" to only know one thing, you will never know a little skill set and knowledge could help you not getting lost / stuck along in the path called life.

Would't you agree?

ps: it's really awesome you know synchronise swimming. I used to have a colleague who loves that too despite her profession is not sport related at all.

I definitely agree. You could check out the video that @malloryblythe posted in her comment here which describes the advantages of learning lots of different things in your lifetime. It's certainly been helpful for me because it allows me to write posts like this one. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 59696.83
ETH 2363.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55