Yesterday a Vogon saved my life

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Vogon1.jpg

The title isn't really what happened, but kinda, well allegorically. Oh no, sorry for writing Vogon-like poetry 😶 aka 'writing badly', but I haven't really been writing in a while, you know how social media goes, LOL.

Ok so long story short, or should I say short story long... I am trying to tell you more about how my life was saved by a Vogon, oh yea, now I remember.

Hmmm... so yesterday I posted a few screenshots of Superbike_Z fooling around while we were making pur pitch video for the #Liquiddapp #DappHackathon. In the video there is a moment where he spoke into the camera and came so close to it that the warped effect from the fisheye lens made him look like a Vogon from the Hitchhiker's guide, well so I thought 😉

And so started my long overdue obsession with the Vogons. I realized yesterday that I actually always loved the Vogons.

Oops 😻 got distracted by my little cuddle buddy and just had to take this picture 🐈

20191127_172210.jpg

Isn't she the cutest yawner ever!

Ok, where was I?

Oh the Vogon that saved my life. Yes, so I started getting so inspired by my remembrance of the Vogons that I eventually decided to use a little Vogon animation in our pitch video.

Why Vogons though you might ask?

Well 1) I explained above how Superbike_Z looked like one while fooling around and wanted to make sure the lookalike reference was evident and 2) Vogons are these ubderstated, underrated clumsy and ugly yet somehow docile creatures if you know what I mean? Oh, you don't?

Ok let me explain, Vogons to me represent all those things we deem ugly. But not just ugly ugly, like that ugly that's so bad it kinda ends up being pretty somehow. It's kinda like, 'aww shame'.

Ok wait let me pull back a bit... I'm definitely not saying Superbike_Z is like this

Remember I said allegory? Yes so what I really mean is that Vogons' ugliness that's so ugly they end up being pretty is an allegory for the things, ideas, feelings, plans and stuff that you hate. Maybe you hate them because they are old and still undone. Or maybe you hate them because you cannot for the world of you figure out what to change to fix them or make them pretty again. Things that are beyond broken and unfixable in a sense. It's like when you mix too many colours together you get this muddy brown and cannot undo it no matter how hard you try, LOL.

So the significance of this unfixable ugliness, the allegory of the whole story, is that this little Vogon reminded me of my long overdue dream of learning how to draw digitally.

Phew that took a while to get to the point.

Yeah so thanks to the Vogon reference and Superbike_Z's tomfoolery I ended up starting to draw with my Wacom again!

For me the moral of this story shows cleary how play is the father🦄 of invention as opposed to necessity being the mother 🐎 don't you think?

Thanks for reading,

Dino_C

PS - @littlekidogo is me and my partner's concept and it means 'little by little'. ('Kidogo' means little in Swahili) Also he is tall and I am small if that makes any sense. Also we are completely new here and trying to find out what to do and how to do it, but take note we are here to make friends, not earn coin/s--------------------[oops the cat did that] and not sure how to go about starting out... what would you advise?

Sort:  

Congratulations @littlekidogo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68255.87
ETH 3271.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68