I Don't Miss Us

in #life6 years ago

We were together for 25 years. We grew apart, fell out of love and were no longer happy together. It's the oldest story in the world...

He's a good guy and a great father and we had a lot of good years and memories. But I don't miss "us". What I do miss is parts of my old life and it's comforts, seeing my kids every day, the house, the pets, the neighbors and friends, the second income.

I gave up the house, partly because I couldn't afford it and partly because I was the one who wanted out and it just made the most sense at the time. But I do miss that house and it's space and comforts - the home I painstakingly decorated for my family. I miss family dinners and family holidays and dinner parties and cookouts and couple friends.

I miss the familiarity that comes with a long-term partnership, being a family, being a part of something you've built, created and worked so hard for. I miss the hopes, the dreams, the plans for the future. I miss what could have been, what should have been, but then remind myself what wasn't and how alone I felt in that part of my life that wasn't.

We change, we grow, we grow apart. Nothing stays the same and, sadly, most things don't last forever. You realize it's all just part of life but with that realization comes the opportunity to rediscover yourself, find a new life and possibly a new "us" with new hopes, dreams and plans for the future.

Yes, I do miss parts of my old life but I also look forward to a new life and all the great, new experiences that will hopefully come with it. Life is short and everyone deserves another shot at happiness. I'm excited for the chance to find mine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76