Tripping on Topes to Oaxaca, Part 1: Dog Adventures, Beaches and New Puppy Friends

in #life7 years ago

For the first time since moving to Acapulco, I've left for a short little trip to Puerto Escondido.  It's a smaller city on the coast of Oaxaca state, a place I've been interested in visiting for a long time.  Between the hash and the cheese, there was a lot drawing me here.  As you can tell by Rebel Dog, he's having a dog blast.

These little guys are part of the reason for the trip, as they need at least a temporary place to stay while their owner goes back to his home for a few months.  So Rebel's got a task ahead of him, since he's now the big dog that's gotta teach the little pups what's up.  For anyone wondering, I've been told they're pure bread Mexican pit bulls. 

I took this series of pictures of the picturesque waves on the beach of Puerto Escondido.  I took them as the wave crashed in and out and did a suprisingly good job, considering.

The first several times we took Rebel to the ocean, he was straight terrified.  Like barking and growling at the ocean, refusing to go in the water scared.  This time he was a bit too ballsy, as these waves are known for their strong undertow. 

But he was good and stayed close by.  Its been a long time since we've seen him have this much fun.

The sand is very different, much firmer and finer in texture.

The car ride was long and brutal, about hours total.  It was down the long free road with lots of topes.  This trip has earned the title, tripping on Topes Through Oaxaca for the excessive and extremely large topes.  It really didn't matter what speed you hit them at, it was all bad.

Halfway through the trip, we officially made it into Oaxaca, a much hotter and more lush place.  Very beautiful though, for sure.  My only complaint is widespread use of slash and burn agriculture, which is crappy looking and bad for the earth.

We got some pictures along the way, I'll post more of those later on as well.  I'm sure I'll get some good ones on the way back as well. 

We made it to our friends, where he has a dog named Tommy that's about Rebel's age.  He's also got a fenced in yard, so Rebel is free to run.  He is right now, across the yard with Tommy chasing him.  It's funny to see them interact, as Rebel isn't neuterered like Tommy is.  Rebel just spent 20 minutes inspecting Tommy there, trying to figure out why he's different. 

I've mentioned that signs in Mexico are very literal, and this is a great example. This is from the Burger King we ate at yeserday, something so funny I had to take a picture of it.

So it was a long drive, but it was good.  We arrived to good company and good food, and I've already got a little ball of the Oaxaca hash to call my own.  I'll share as I have time, although the more in depth posts will come. 

Things are getting crazier down here, as we prepare to bring home two pit bull puppies.  I'll share lots on my adventures training them, as I do things differently honestly.  So stay tuned.

Another heads up, I'm diversifying! I've been approached to be a new guru for the Homestead Guru, originally started by Catherine Bleish.  It'll be mostly reposts of my Steemit posts, with different images here and there and Catherine's editing, to make them more polished.  If you see one and find it valuable, share it for me please!

I'll include the first two links to my first two articles below, thanks for reading and supporting us!


Sort:  

What's a tope and why does it matter how fast you're going?

Thank you Len, also in short it's a speed bump that can sometimes be more like a curb in the middle of the road. Our friends car bottomed out many times on large speedbumps no matter how slow we tried to take them.

Radar cops and speed limits aren't really a thing here.
Topes are, and they'll fucking eat your car if you try and disobey.
Lucky for us, there's a mechanico near just about every bad tope we noticed, interesting how that is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58990.94
ETH 2670.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44