You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Earthship Biotecture & Self-sufficient Housing: My Journey of Discovery Part I (ecoTrain)

in #life7 years ago

Those old tyres though make me cringe, I would not want them in a house.
And the use of cement is putting me of a bit. But apart from those two things earthships seem to be great. What I also like is loadbearing strawbale construction (which is not allowed in Germany).

Sort:  

There are five loadbearing strawbalehouses in germany. But no more permissions have been given out, so far. No reasons. Even the one by Bill Steens design in Wangelin hasn't got a roof yet. Althought the construction engineer gave it a thumb up.

lol.. if u saw it you wouldnt cringe.. becuase you cant see them, or feel them.. They make up maybe 0.1% of the mass of the house.. and are entombed in a mud wall..

There is hardly any cement in this Earhthsip.. none in the tyres, and just 10% on the final half inch thick top coat.. this is also optional but with the heavy monsoons i wanted low maintenance..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2721.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56