Harvest Time

in #life6 years ago

The garden has been producing very well and plenty of carrots and potatoes were harvested. They were a bit small but the flavor was very good. It wasn’t exactly a commercial harvest but I felt like getting some home grown food was wonderful.

harvest .jpg
Home grown potatoes and carrots, with a nice purple color – click for viewing full screen

Some of the bugs are turning on their fall colors. This bug enjoys hanging upside down on my house. Usually they are more green in the spring and seem to blend in better with the house paint.

upsideDown .jpg
These bugs are starting to turn brown in the fall – click for viewing full screen

After many months of civil disobedience the city finally put in a new trash can. You can’t believe what a welcome sight this was.

I was beginning to feel a lot like characters in the movie, “A Clockwork Orange” if any of you remember watching that movie. There is a scene in the movie where Alex and his gang of unsavory characters are slinking back towards the project after a night of ultra-violence. There a bunch of broken glass and busted down doors along the path.

So too it seems like the local path was looking. People were dumping bags of dog POOP next to the sign and there was broken glass all over the path. Dog-oh even ended up with a large thorn in his paw when we were walking the other day.

After months of seeing the POOP stack up next to the sign, I was aghast at finally seeing a brand new trash can. Kudos to the local city workers – WOOT, WOOT!

trashCan .jpg
A brand new trash can, civil disobedience can work – click for viewing full screen

Fun native berries to harvest around here are the thimbleberry. They were out earlier but there are not so many now. They taste a lot like a raspberry with a nicer flavor imho.

I like the taste of raspberries too when I can get them, but mostly I have been eating blackberries every day from my backyard now. They are really good as well.

thimbleBerry .jpg
A native raspberry – click for viewing full screen

Slightly unrelated but if you are ever in Lafayette, Colorado check out Ras Kassa’s Ethiopian food. It is really wonderful food and served with excellence.

dinner .jpg
Ethiopian food from Ras Kassa’s in Lafayette, CO – click for viewing full screen

It does feel a bit like we may be in for a nice fall harvest of crypto too. One can hope that we all have success with whatever we do.


Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S9+.

Sort:  

hi, my friend @lightsplasher. I want to ask why the harvested carrots are small in size, is the effect of the growing place not good or how is my friend @lightsplasher?

Very good posts, my best friend, I really like potatoes, and the foods that have risol, that's my favorite food, a very perfect post thank you for sharing my dear friend

food that makes me want to eat it. Your blog is perfect. @ greetings @lightsplasher

Your garden is excellent. this is very good work.Foods from home gardens are healthy. the great enjoy sir. it is wonderful photography
Thanks @lightsplasher
Have a great day

Loved your harvest. I should be picking some cucumber soon. Last week I enjoyed a few turnips and kohlrabi and even a small beet. Thimble berries are my favorite will berry too but you do got to get your timing just right. Glad to hear about the new waste receptacle:):):)

Glad to see your garden given nice harvest. Seriously home harvested vegetables superb to eat. It has more nutritious ingredients. Carrots, potatoes, blackberries better looks indeed.

vegetables that are very high in phitamin, I really like healthy and quality dishes

image

Your post this morning created a longing in me, "You should go see what lightsplasher's world is really like!" Lol. It would be fun writing more about my environment too. It will surely intrigue someone.

And that food really does look yummy. Oh, what do you mean here:

It does feel a bit like we may be in for a nice fall harvest of crypto too.

In reality, I think I'm irking for some potential good news.

A short and truly beautiful post.

Good job my best friend forever..
Like it my friend

Fruits and foods that are healthy and nutritious.
I really like the food and the fruit.
Good job my senior friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97