This Is A True Story Of Tragedy, Bad Judgment And Mirth Dredged From My Past For Steemians To Enjoy.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

This is a true story of tragedy, bad judgment and mirth dredged from my past for Steemians to enjoy.

When I was quite a bit younger, I lived in Massachusetts.
My family and I went to church in Boston.
The congregation had grown way too large to fit in the church building.
So, the Sunday services were broken up by area or held in the Boston Garden arena,
back before it was rebuilt.
The services were held right there where the Celtics and Bruins played.
During hockey season mats were placed out on the ice and a pulpit and sound system.
We had to bundle up for church, the arena was cold.
During basketball season they set up just out of bounds at half court,
just off the old hardwood floor on which the Celtics played.
It was the era of Larry Bird and Kevin McHale.
I could list the rest of the lineup beloved by Bostonians but that is not the point of the story.
I was never eager to sit through another service.
Putting it off, as long as possible, I went downstairs to the McDonald's across the street.
On the way there, I saw something which, whenever I remember it,
makes me laugh to this day.
It seems the McDonald's had gotten all new uniforms, the Friday just before.
They had made the mistake of putting all of the old uniforms in the dumpster.
This cache of valuable warmth was promptly raided by all the local homeless.
So, when I walked out of The Garden, onto the street,
I was confronted with a sight that is making me weep with laughter as I write this.
There appeared to be gangs of extremely disheveled McDonald's employees
milling about the street, some pushing shopping carts filled with all manner of junk.
Some were waiting to get a little change from the churchgoers,
so they could get a Sunday morning cup of joe. Now just so you know,
I have been homeless. I'm not laughing at homeless people here but,
the comedy comes at least in some part from the spectacle
and in some part from the poor judgment of that McDonald's management.
I worked at McDonald's at the time, the scene was particularly acute in my awareness.
Predictably, the comical appearance faded over time but,
the reminders were still apparent months later, for those who had the eyes to see,
in the appearance of a red and white,
vertical striped shirt appearing here or there amongst the homeless at The Garden.


images: https://healthy007.com and www.publicdomainpictures.net

Sort:  

Your posts could be improved by some attention to formatting.

undoubtedly. i haven't written in about 20 years for anyone but myself. i've done about 21 posts and am still trying to simply recover my grammar and spelling. i'll get to the formatting, as soon as i am done flailing like an infant. specifically are you referring to breaking up paragraphs, centering photos, both and more?

I grew up in a suburb of Boston. Around what year did this happen?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32