EXTERMINATE! EXTERMINATE!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Fire ants are an ever present threat in some parts of the tropics and subtropics.
If you are allergic or just not quick enough, fire ants can kill you.
Usually they are nothing more than an annoyance, but in large enough numbers
they become a considerable danger.

I spent twelve years in the American southeast,
and was never seriously endangered by the many types of poisonous snakes,
or alligators that could be seen to inhabit everywhere around where I lived.
Fire ants almost killed me. I was 3 years old and didn't know what they were.

Range of fire ants in the USA.

I've tried many methods for killing these tiny monsters,
but it seems the best way would come to me after I left the area.
Having spent nearly 10 years at mold making and casting,
at some point, doing some research, I ran across this,
a novel way of ridding the yard of a menace,
and simultaneously producing a work of art from nature.

It works as well in aluminum or copper.

Caution: countless ants were gleefully killed in the making of this video.
Largest Aluminum Fire Ant Colony Cast So Far (Cast #072)

============================================================================

images: i.imgflip.com/1k65qi.jpg
upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/9/9e/FireantmapUSA.jpg
antcastaustin.files.wordpress.com/2014/03/brodie-cast.jpg
img1.etsystatic.com/101/0/11570814/il_fullxfull.843898051_orqa.jpg
videos: www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Xvsxarw-J0
www.youtube.com/watch?v=VU0GYSA1POs

Sort:  

Wow a Creative Work of Nature. KUDOS!
omg.gif

Thank you. Clever animation too.

That is some crazy art! I do like ants, I don't live near fire ants though...

Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for the comment.

I don't think every ant nest should become a reenactment of the Dresden bombing, but fire ants are non-indigenous invasive species and are dangerous.

Very creative art for real!!! That map is wrong I have found fire ants in Colorado!!!

Thank you for the comment and update, I didn't know they'd made it as far as Colorado. They must be getting more used to the cold.

They seem to increase their range every year.

It appears you have a flagbot hounding you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99