Can Literacy Be Bad?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Critical thinking is indispensable to being alive and informed in an age of information.

To think that one can comprehend the fullness of a subject by
doing a twenty second phone search for a bit of information is clearly ridiculous,
and leads to an often crippling lack of context, that can sometimes be disastrous.

In this age of push-button access to information,
I am often astonished by how little the average person knows.
If an individual does not, in the information age,
have a solid basis for understanding information as knowledge,
misinformation and disinformation becomes an ever present threat.

Knowing how to use grammar and logic to put information together in
a useful structure and mechanism for understanding is the way to avoid the danger.
Structure (grammar), assembly (logic), and use (rhetoric) of language to
function as a rational consciousness allow us to take advantage of
the dynamics of the phenomena of reality.

The list of logical fallacies is not only a way to protect yourself from
falsity from without, but also from within.
As someone once said, "don't believe everything that you hear, read, or think."
I would add, do not believe everything you feel or intuit either.

History... Interview: The Trivium Method vs. The Classical Trivium: A Briefing by Kevin Cole

============================================================================
image: i.imgflip.com/1k0qnh.jpg
video: www.youtube.com/watch?v=4lR7jqYx22g

Sort:  

I question the correlation between literacy and intelligence. Some of the smartest people I've ever known were barely literate. My ex brother in law is one of the most brilliant inventors I've ever met, yet he reads very poorly.

Agreed. Understanding how is much more important than knowing what, though knowing what is an excellent addition to understanding how. I have known a physics professor who knew a great deal, but who understood less than your average machinist.

Literacy, without understanding, can be dangerous, even deadly. One of the best examples is reading propaganda, without context, within which to comprehend the desired response, and the wise response.

Funny you should mention professors... When I was in college I had a little home handyman business. One prof hired me to change out some locksets and marveled at how "handy" I was. I told him "it's two screws John, not rocket science." He said he'd never figure it out.

I've known college educated people who, didn't know how to pump their own gas, didn't know that chicken eggs are potential baby chickens ( seriously, she thought eggs were a tasty sort of fruit, that chickens made for people to eat.), and a person that claimed to have a biology degree, who said that it wasn't actually yeast, that was used to make the alcohol in beer. Sometimes I think that college makes some people less intelligent.

yeah can't imagine how it is now with the BLM's parying to dunno what actually but it's bad probably :D they pray for love and the oppression to stop? like what wasn't that years ago, are there sugar plantations still, aren't there real problems then the white devil :D or how about social studies and gender equality professors, I couldn't argue with one EVER

The costs of education may now outweigh the benefit, let alone the demonstrable long term damage it does.

Self education is probably the best, with access to advice.

I was presenting a paper at a conference and there was a woman professor before me who presented a paper on Marx's influence on botany???

how about those social studies and gender equality professors, cis scum :D thanks for not saying it's a word dear editor, I'm sure the feelings are hurt now it used to be a show a few years ago :D I'm not sure what's normal anymore :D

btw thanks @lifeworship for not saying .... news I've heard it enough already. I get annoyed every time I do nowadays :D thanks for using words rather than made up concepts. all news is fake because it's not news, you aren't there so it's not new anymore :D Carlin lives :D damn I miss him :|

Was she trying to say that plants need their own bathroom?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50