Meet Bandit

in #life7 years ago

Meet Bandit

6695000_6695000-R2-033-15.jpg
2015

My dog, my best friend. I found him in 2014 when he was with a homeless man on the streets of my city. The homeless man couldn't take care of him so in a totally unexpected turn of events he ended up giving the dog to me. For the first few weeks, he was extremely skinny and bony and often times there was plastic, rocks, sticks, and even aluminum can pieces in his excrement. I honestly didn't know if he was going to make it. Luckily he recovered and put on some weight, and only then his real personality started to show. His name is Bandit because he's a little rascal who used to love to proudly knock over the trash can every time I walked out the house and bring the goodies to wait for me in my room. I couldn't get mad at him, nobody truly could. From underneath my bed to a brief stop in the bathroom, he followed me everywhere and watched my every move with his beady brown eyes. He was studying. He'd never lived in a home before. It would very touching.

6695000_6695000-R1-009-3.jpg
2016

I haven't spent a day without the guy for the last three and a half years and I can't imagine spending a day without him. Sometimes I think about the day I'll be holding him as he is put down. I cry. Of all the places I've been, girls I've dated, and plans that have fallen through, he's been the one and only constant that is always just an arms reach away. I feel incredibly lucky.

6695000_6695000-R2-049-23.jpg
2017

I know this is kind of like making a blog about my child which may seem a bit cliche or silly, but it's really more. I want to urge people to adopt pets. While I have no problem with people purchasing purebred dogs, I urge you to consider those dogs out there who are in need of a home. I had no idea I was going to get to have this guy in my life the morning of the day I got him, but I'm sure as hell I couldn't have found a better dog.

Just remember that when you see an animal in pain and in weakness, it truly isn't fair to judge. With a little nourishment and love they might turn out to be the exact pet you were always hoping for.

Sort:  

Great post! I think I will post about my dog soon too =]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45