Why authority is an illusion

in #life8 years ago

Ever wonder why you are susceptible to certain types of people in authority? Maybe it's the school teacher, or the police man, or even the Politician. There's always going to be that person in your life that you are slightly or mostly obligatory to. Why? Well think about it, all through our lives we've been taught to obey. We've been taught to be good in school, obey the teacher, succumb to the pressure of society so you aren't lifted by the police, or whatever choice we have in Politics that's it for us, there's no 'other'. Learn to provide and get a job and raise a healthy family.

Any of you out there been taught to lead? I'm not sure at any point in school, college or university was I at any point given any help on effective management. Perhaps that's because people deem it as a life skill and experience matter, who knows? I know I wouldn't have been able to lead in my twenties, but then again I had a slightly abnormal childhood. I can't speak for the rest of the world.

Not even at work. Work I was taught how to half-lead whilst still brown-nosing the big boss. The big-boss has the last word because he/she ultimately runs the company and rules the little contained environment that I live in. We weren't built to perceive the world in it's current vastness, and it's why I talk about authority and the illusion that we live in.

I love to talk about feelings, and empowerment, and gender issues, love and the likes but please make no mistake. I'm definitely no authority. I don't see myself as one, anyway. I like to have the notion that all of you, everywhere are my equals. Given the same chances that I've had in my life you'd be in the same position as me. Granted, I know my shit. And, I have a huge list of credentials that extends the length of my arm, but that still doesn't make me an authority. When you think about it realistically I'm just some greying 30-something man with a loving wife and son in tow trying to make ends meet. I'm no grand spokesperson for you. YOU know about YOU.

It's like @dan, and @ned, yeah, those guys might have had the greatest idea ever that's framed the start of a change in the way web communication works in the likes we've never seen before, yet they're no authority. They can't speak for me. Or you. Just because they post something on cryptocurrency doesn't mean the grand wiseth speaketh and it shall be done. Chances are they've probably fucked up on tons of deals like you and I previously. Yup, they certainly know their shit but it still doesn't make them an authority.

Same when anyone else on here speaks with an over 50 reputation, it doesn't mean shit. It only means that they've invested a lot of time (and perhaps money) here and it's paid off. But let's not get me wrong here most of you guys are awesome, and provide this community with valuable valuable content that really engages and connects with people. But I feel most of you have the same perception as me anyway. It's why cryptocurrency is so popular.

In my opinion the less we shove people on pedestals and the more we try to understand humanity then the easier it will be for all of us. 

Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton? Authorities? Remember, they still sit on the toilet and let foul smelling shit rip their arseholes apart. They may like to be seen as infallible, but on the contrary they're not. Two humans that were born into good circumstances and did something about it. But we still hold the keys to their power.

Every one of you. Every. Damn. One. of you on here and everywhere else has value. We are but mere victims of circumstance. I was born into a slum-dwelling poor family. My Dad made the best out of his opportunity, and then so did I.

To phrase it better, if you were born into the best of circumstances do you think you would have had it as bad as you do now? And that's vice versa too. As a man that tries to constantly understand humanity and what it stands for I can tell you for sure that everyone fucks up, everyone makes the same mistakes and no-one on earth's shit smells sweeter than the next persons. When you put yourself above someone else it's game over for you, because then you're underestimating the outside world and the force of change. Change always catches you out. I promise!

Tip for today (hidden meaning)

Don't base your worth on authority, money and materials. Base it on who you are as a person and how you perceive others and treat them.

It's win win from here, friend!

Be well,

@lifeisawesome 

Sort:  

Think about it ; consider a financial planner or money adviser . . .
Would these people actually be giving advice on how to get others rich if they knew it themselves ? ? ?
Human nature says they would be keeping their opinions firmly to themselves and drifting around the Caribbean on their own personal yachts.
It is almost like some sort of Court ordered community service or something . . .

You will go forth and spend X amount of time helping others invest their hard earned money. Why would a financial adviser help others (even for a small fee) make money, truly these people must all be independently retired at the age of 30 . . .

Yes they would, since earning money requires more than just knowing how, but access to capital and labour (effort including attention etc.). Doesn't matter how much you know if you don't have those things, so while you manage your own money with your limited capital available, you can solicit out your knowledge and attention to help others increase their own capital, in exchange for a cut of that increase.

I think I get what you mean, and yes, you're right. Most people that try to tell you how to get rich are in actual fact getting rich from the people that buy their crap :)

I think these financial planners are like door to door salespeople, there boss tells em what to peddle and they do it. Not sure if these people actually balance their own cheque books in Real Life . . .

Hmm, because financial advise is not about how to make you rich, but how to get the best out of your money? i.e. how to avoid paying tax (tax avoidance =/= tax evasion), choosing best mortgage option etc

I love your sentiments! And I totally agree with them. :)

That's a gif I really don't understand! lol

Couldn't agree more! Great post

I take what you mean to say is you're not an authority but in certain respects you're qualified in your opinions. In other words you don't hold sway over others but anybody naive of your topics of expertise could count on you for an informed opinion.

That sounds completely reasonable to me.

Um, that's a good breakdown. I liked the way you phrased that :)

Always nice to see you loving my posts @virtualgrowth :)

Yep, as you say from an early age we're taught not just to obey authority, but that the person with authority is somehow better than us. Rarely do we stop to question this hierarchy as it's so ingrained in us. There's an interesting quote I came across a while back:

As Ellwood P. Cubberley, Dean of the Stanford University School of Education, put it in 1898:

Our schools are, in a sense, factories, in which the raw materials – children – are to be shaped and fashioned into products… The specifications for manufacturing come from the demands of 20th century civilization, and it is the business of the school to build its pupils according to the specifications laid down. source [here](http://carolblack.org/on-the-wildness-of-children/)

The education and social systems are deliberately designed to keep us peasants in our place and obedient forever. And we are! Yes boss, no boss, three bags full boss. That's why you're so right when you say not to base worth on authority, money or material things... because these things shape our perspective of where we rank in society, and affect our actions accordingly. So yes, value yourself and others not on these things, but on your raw human qualities! Good post, thank you :-)

Lovely quote. It's all too true what you say!

Great post! In fact, it was so good that we decided to feature it in our latest newspaper. Read it here: https://steemit.com/steemplus/@steemplus/steemplus-sunday-october-16-the-daily-newspaper-that-pays-you-to-find-high-quality-content

Thank you - that's awesome :) - I really appreciate that!

Really enjoy your honest words!

Awesome, thank you. Loving your username :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 55817.20
ETH 2966.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.17