You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Positive Thinking is Overrated

in #life8 years ago

Ah, I've yet to approach this balance. Good point, and it's definitely in my mind to approach it at some point. Thinking positively all the time is not what I do. I don't go, oh yeah, I'm great. My hand just got chopped off, great! How awesome life is. There are totally other negative emotions that help us get through life. My last run in with someone at work was my fault, and all night before I went in the following day I felt like a complete shitbag. I apologised. If I didn't it would have become complicated and I'd be living in a false reality.

The reason I'm so big on positivity is because I wasn't brought up in my ivory tower and educated at Stanford, or Hale. I was dragged up in one of the most impoverished estates in my era. Spent six months in a psych ward, spend a good five years being clinically depressed and on top of all that tried to end it all several times. If I'm honest though, the suicide attempts were really cries for help.

But then, someone gave me hope, they seen that light in me that had shined bright for a long time, it was just hidden behind the black hole, and they ripped that fucker out for the world to see. For me to see. And once I saw it I was like, wow, man. This is cool, and from then on it's been success after success.

But that's not to say my journey wasn't/isn't fraught with tears and loss. I still fall out with people, I still get angry at the wife, I still lose important man hours to family sickness, our families still throw curveballs at us. We're no exception to the rule. The difference is that I've accepted my reality for what it is and chose to think of it differently. Highly important when life doesn't shower me with gold, strawberries and creams constantly.

Anyway, this is a post for another day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67724.53
ETH 2606.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72