Perspective is everything

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Perspective is everything

Thanks to @perspective and her blistering post here: https://steemit.com/life/@perspective/the-witch-s-carousel I’ve just thought up some new content. It’s wonderful how life falls into your lap sometimes it’s just awesome.

Life is awesome. See what I did there? Hah!


So you know me by now as an addict, I’ve yet to talk about my drug abuse, but it’ll come. But I’ve had some shitty times I kid you not.

There was the time I stole money from my mate

That was fun

Oh, and the time that I stole money from my housemate,

That was fun too.

All to fund my drinking habit mind you. It was always to go out and get pissed.

Never for the humanitarian efforts in Africa.

God no. Alcoholism is such a selfish addiction.

Oh, and then there was the time I had my Mum in tears because I was having alcohol fuelled parties over at her house

That was fun too

Man, life was just one big fun party to me. It was totally awesome

Then there was the time I emptied my step-mum’s penny jar to get alcohol,

Oh and don’t forget the times I told Dad I’d be back and never came, countless times, even on Christmas Day would you credit it.

See, I lived with Dad for a while too.

But that’s another story.

Life was there to serve me. People were there to be used, and taken for granted.

I was a user.

Sadly I couldn’t exist as a user for long. Because I would eventually use up all my options.

My friends would give up on me, I would turn to alcohol and lose my job,

I would end up broke, jobless, friendless and penniless..

Oh, wait, that did happen to me.

I couldn’t see past it. Life was shit. It always had been. No-one cared, only I did. You need to look after yourself in life.

And if you don’t have it, you take it.


Image Attribution: https://flic.kr/p/EmPMeU

Life owes me everything, I’d think.

YOU owe me everything. Yes, YOU. Every, damn, thing.

It wasn’t until I finally sought help that I changed, and yes, some of the shit I went through was excruciatingly tough,

But I made it,

Us humans are tougher than you think, you know.

I learned out there, that there are people that care. My Manager, she always said to me that she wouldn’t be there if she didn’t get paid,

But she cared,

You could tell that she cared.

And I spent my time in solitude (yesterday’s story), (https://steemit.com/life/@lifeisawesome/we-all-need-some-love-in-our-hearts)

And from there my attitude changed.

I actually face worse in life now than I did all those years ago,

In fact, not much has changed apart from taking on a family, bills and responsibilities

I had none of that back then,

But I remain positive.

Could you just imagine how my life would be if I had the attitude as I did as a youngster?

Yep, you guessed it, probably dead.

So the next time you say,

“I’ll never be happy”

Think about what you like about yourself, and work on those

And what you hate? (don’t lie!) Work on those too.

Apologise to those that need apologising to

Pick up the phone, tell someone you love them,


Image Attribution: https://flic.kr/p/fGiud7

Take yourself out somewhere – by Christ you’ve needed it!

Binge watch your favourite TV show. What? You deserve it!

Do more of what you love

And work on what you hate

And please,

Be fucking AWESOME, friends.

Sort:  

Your post is the reality that life has to offer, you fall down once, but you tend to rise up with confidence and consistency. Life is complicated , and you deal with it, your past negative experiences made you realized that life is sometimes ups and downs, and you shared to us that you've learned from your past, and you showed the world, that you can be great in your ways. so Thank You for inspiring us readers.

You know what happened to the guy who got everything he ever wanted right...

He lived happily ever after ;)

Exactly - and that's because he created it for himself :)

Ahhhh..., I been there, my man... More time then I care to remember or admit. But when it finally catches up to you.., and your world is crashing down -- you have no choice but to acknowledge it... And that is where your perspective can either drag you further down the rabbit hole.., or really save your butt... CHEERS!

"You know what I do when Im feeling down?!

I stop feeling down and I start feeling awesome!" This quote makes me laugh :)

Urgh, I hate that lol!! - there's always a reason why you're down - work on that :)

Interesting post. Attitude is such a big part of everything!

Thank you :) - it is!

@steemcleaners this image is under CC BY-ND 2.0 licence.

You must give appropriate credit, provide a link to the license, and indicate if changes were made.

Source: http://steem.link/8U6h1

https://www.flickr.com/photos/alisdare/25177209554

Proper attribution is required.

Sorted, thank you. Since it makes a difference to folk I'll attribute everything from now on - I've always pulled my sources from the creative commons, labelled for re-use, I just didn't understand that some people want an attribution too. Which is fine - it's their content. I can do that :)

From another perspective:
The Last Boy Scout
-- Fuck you, Joe. You're never around. I was lonely!
-- Buy a dog.

I need to binge watch my favorite show! I haven't had time for that in forever!

Me too! No time though lol

This post is so HONEST. I enjoyed it very much. Thank you for linking to me. I'm a bit dumbstruck!

Love your advises! On my way to following some of the last ones you mentioned! 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43