The Hazards of Meditation and Life on the Internet

in #life7 years ago

Meditation can be rejuvenating, and interacting on the internet (especially here on Steemit) can be invigorating. But when do these practices become an escape?  It is a fine line worth exploring.

A while back, I was working hard in the “ethers”(the place of non-physical focus) … being vigilant with my prayer practice, listening intently to spiritual direction, stepping up my meditation practice, while simultaneously living almost my entire business life through the internet.  

Some really great things happened with all of that non-physical focus.  My consciousness expanded and my intuition increased immensely.  It felt wonderful to float around in the ethers, and then share my bliss on social media.

But meanwhile my life on planet earth was suffering by comparison.  It became increasingly uncomfortable to focus on mundane tasks like paying bills and going to the grocery store.  Some days I never got out of my pajamas.  My memory started to suffer, and I just couldn’t seem to pay attention to much of anything that didn’t have to do with my spiritual life or the internet.  

I didn’t recognize this as much of a problem … even as my husband grew increasingly frustrated at my inattention to our life together.  I just floated around, thinking that this was my path to manifesting my heart’s desires on planet earth. 

Quite the opposite happened.  I became extremely inefficient at daily living.  My income wasn’t increasing, and I began to battle with the mental shadows of inadequacy and insecurity.

Have you ever experienced this?

What I discovered is that when you play "off-planet"... even if you're focused through the portal of your computer, you need to stay grounded. When expansion comes, through either spiritual work or social media interaction, you can fall into the illusion that this is all there is to life. 

Let's face it. Life on planet earth can be harsh and unglamourous.  Our real life friends and family may not get us.  And those of us who are sensitive and empathic can really get addicted to the escape.

But what if we're not meant to escape from mundane life? What would be the point of having bodies if we were meant to float around all day?  

Our purpose as visionary humans who seek to expand and connect in non traditional ways, is to live out all of the juiciness that we get from our otherworldly pursuits right here on planet earth.

So stay grounded my friends. Pay attention to your body.  Get out of our pajamas. Wash your dishes. Comb your hair. And for goodness sake, please brush your teeth! Then go take a walk, before you sit down on your meditation cushion or type out your next blog post.

Use your mundane life as the place where you integrate the energy that you get from your otherworldly activities.  Let the feel good, the insights, the breakthroughs... enrich your physical world. And see what blossoms from there.

We're engaging here on a platform that makes enrichment possible on many levels. How can you channel all of the enrichment that you get here into your daily, earthly existence?



 

Sort:  

Great reminder. Thanks for the post.
Love this: "Our purpose as visionary humans who seek to expand and connect in non traditional ways, is to live out all of the juiciness that we get from our otherworldly pursuits right here on planet earth." The escape is nice, but it shouldn't be an end onto itself. It can serve as a means to an enriched life, which can then enrich the lives of others.

So glad you found some inspiration here @ssimkins9

This post has received a 3.57 % upvote from @moneymatchgaming thanks to: @lifeisartsandy. Upvote this Post to Support the MMG Community on Steemit! :)

Very well written article and an important topic! Will follow for more.

Thank you. Followed you too!

New_Intro.gif

This post is Powered by @superbot all the way from Planet Super Earth.

Follow @superbot First and then Transfer 0.100 STEEM/STEEM DOLLAR to @superbot & the URL in the
memo that you want Resteemed + get Upvoted & Followed By @superbot and 1 Partner Account.

Your post will Appear in the feed of 1000+ Followers :)

So don't waste any time ! Get More Followers and gain more Visibility With @superbot

#Note - Please don't send amount less than 0.100 Steem/Steem Dollar ,Also a post can only be resteemed once.

Thank you for using @superbot

If you would like to support this bot , Please don't forget to upvote this post :)
Stay Super !

New_Intro2.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80