I am Not a Feminist.

in #life6 years ago

I just wanted to add my thoughts to the Feminist conversation. Every time I see a post online of a woman beating down a man for silly reasons, it always has me thinking about it.

Modern day feminism has really tanked. It's gotten to the point where Feminism means man hating. It now has the reputation of squashing men, and trying to make females the more dominant gender.

It all stemmed from women wanting equal rights as men. Which is a great movement, absolutely! But in this day of "reparations and the patriachy", it's gotten so out of hand that most self proclaimed feminists forget what the definition is.

I don't accept feminism.

Yes, I am a woman. A 25 year old woman who has made it through college without being forever tainted by the feminist agenda.

I shave my armpit and leg hair. I spoil my luscious locks with hair products, and I wear natural makeup. I make sure I look beautiful every time I go out, because it's an effort that is noticed by everyone. I don't talk about my menstrual cycle right out in the open in casual conversation. Because it's gross.

Some things are best kept to yourself. What ever happened to general courtesy? Respecting other people also means keeping your social views to yourself in a room where your opinions are not shared.

I like my men manly. Because testosterone is sexy. No amount of soy-boy beta male men are going to do anything for me.

Men and women each have their roles in society. The roles fall naturally, and that's beautiful.

I make sure dinner is on the table every night. I make sure there's clean clothes for myself and my man. I am the tenderness that women bring to a home. Not that men can't either, but women are known for it. I LOVE pampering him when he gets home...that is something I never see myself getting tired of.

He opens the door for me when I get into the car. Every. Single. Time. Because I'm a lady. I embrace my femininity, and he certainly makes me feel it every day. In such a very good way.

Being a female doesn't automatically make you worse off than men. Sure, in some countries that aren't as well off, that may not be true. But in the U.S., we have equal rights. We can work alongside men in the workforce. We can build our careers just as successfully as men. Our vote matters just as much as the equal sex. Our wage is the same. But one thing men can't do, that no amount of money will ever be able to make up for, is give birth to new life.

You think not shaving your arm pit hair empowers you? Just wait until I tell you about childbirth. For 9 months, women carry a child in their womb. They feel that baby move inside themselves. And when the child is ready to come out, women are the only ones to experience the pain, beauty, and empowerment from giving birth. Then, they breastfeed and bond with their babies. Try that for empowerment!

Women can never be men.

And I'm tired of hearing that the patriarchy has to be brought down. What patriarchy? Are they talking about the men who take care of themselves physically...the ones that treat women with tender care and politeness? Are the feminists really mad that a man is holding a door open for them? Why? No really, why?

Men can do things for women, and women can do things for men. It's a symbiotic relationship that will always exist.

One thing that bothers me, is the term cat calling. Sure, there are forms of harassment. But it's gotten so out of hand that men are facing a witch hunt. Especially in their careers. They can't say a single word of endearment towards a woman without getting persecuted. As another beautiful female friend said, I WANT to live in a world where men can openly call me beautiful! I want the social exchanges that are natural between men and women. What else will we do? Be forced to swipe left or right and that's just how we find our partners?

For every strong man throughout history, there's a woman. Behind the scenes, there's always a woman. Women are the inspiration for so many beautiful pieces of art and music. Wars have been fought over gorgeous, strong women. There are goddesses worshiped throughout history. Why feel belittled? Why compare ourselves to men, when we bring just as much to the table?

Embrace your femininity.

The more experience I have in life, the more I keep coming back to this. Ladies, don't be afraid to be yourself. You don't have to show off your birthing stretchmarks to the world, or dye your armpit hair blue. You don't have to fit in with the feminist crowd to be heard. Just be you. Because when a strong, confident, feminine woman walks into a room, you're noticed and appreciated way more than you think.

I am not a feminist.
But I am feminine.

37633149_10214304869553171_5076859155864616960_o.jpg

Sort:  

This is excellent! I wish more people had this perspective, and knew that lobbying for special rights, instead of equal rights, only succeeds in causing further division.

Congratulations @lidia.durma! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lidia.durma! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66666.50
ETH 3503.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71