Ibrahimovic back to the Swedish national team

in #life6 years ago

image


Manchester United striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic opens the door to return to the Swedish national team this year's World Cup in Russia if he can recover his fitness on time.

"We'll see that it's a tough question, I want to feel that I can perform and make it happen, I do not want to come because I'm someone." The door is not closed for anything, "he said.

Speaking to reporters on the opening day of his new paddle tennis center in Stockholm, the 36-year-old added that it was hard to see Sweden playing without him.

"I miss the national team.When you play in the national team for 20 years and then you are no longer there, you see [the other players] playing in the national team, that's hard," he said.

"In general it's tough, when you think I'm injured and not playing, I want to play, with the club team, with the national team, it's the same thing they [Swedish National Team] has done a good job," he added.

Without him, Sweden finished second behind France in Group A World Cup qualifying, ahead of Holland on goal difference, and then get rid of Italy through the playoffs to reach the final.

Ibrahimovic struggled to recover from a serious knee injury he suffered in April 2017, and he missed the Europa League final when United won over Ajax Amsterdam in Stockholm in May.

Sweden's top scorer with 62 goals from 116 games, Ibra retired from the national team after they were eliminated from the 2016 European group stage but said even the phone call did not make him able to return to the national team soon.

"I do not think anyone should call in. If I want to do it, I'm there, that's what happens, but one thing at a time, when I can do what I want, I'll have other thoughts," he said.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37