Thanks for upgrading yourself, Firefox, and eliminating my add-ons; I've lost all my tabs! DATALOSSsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Firefox "Quantum" (v57.0) was just auto-upgraded, and I just lost all my tabs.

I had recently (a couple days ago) gone through and cleaned it up, as well! Went from 4 windows with 80+ tabs, to 1 window with around 20. Those were all my crypto-related exchanges, news sites, blogs/forums, etc.

Might be able to find them in history/bookmarks, but history won't work for the tabs I've been "saving to look at later" (some for over a year, so, yeah, perhaps this is another "cleaning" event -- but I don't like them forced on me!).

Having a rather stressful day, technology-wise. One computer with a pair of 4 TB drives can't copy between them, one drive goes off-line. Reinstalled Ubuntu 16.04.3, now running "badblocks" to check for bad blocks, after 6 hours one is 90% done, the other is 75% done. (The 90% one is the one that was going off-line; I would have expected it to be slower, so this is odd.) So far, neither has detected any errors, and the drives are both less than 50% full, so if there were errors in the data, it should have found them by now. I've never filled these drives up, so it's not really possible that a fragmented file would end up in the upper regions. Anyway, I'll let the processes finish; should be another hour for the faster, and two hours for the slower. Both drives are identical manufacturers and types as well, so their performance should be similar.

Oh, one difference -- the faster one uses all of /dev/sda, whereas the slower one is a partition, /dev/sdc1 (the only partition on /dev/sdc). I think this means /dev/sda uses the GPT partitioning scheme, and /dev/sdc uses the older MBR scheme. Perhaps I should make them similar, but right now each has data that I'm trying to clone to the other, so there'll be two copies of that data.

Another computer which I've put in the basement to help heat the house is (finally!) mining Bitcoin Gold, which I consider to be a scam, so I might switch to another coin. Looks like it'll make 0.01 BTG per day (just has a single 9750 in it).

Anyway, I consider this a DATALOSS event, and not necessarily a "DATALOSS BUG", but "DATALOSS programming". They intended to break this plugin, and gave me no notice. Not very useful, even if the browser is "twice as fast as it was a year ago" -- as it said in the splash tab when it started and wouldn't show me my old tabs -- which is a very odd way of measuring speed. "This performs better than 7 versions ago!" Uh, okay... How does it compare to the version I was just running, which remembered my shit??!?

I'd much prefer "no DATALOSS" to "'Fierce'", whatever that means. Anyway, this is me venting, only swore once; progress. :)




Sort:  

As you know I had issues with the upgrade myself! Ugh...

I know how you feel right now, experienced the same!

auto updates are the evil of the decade, Lol.

there should be a option in auto update, ask to user for updating and close all tabs while task perform only user permission.

Auto-update is a bitch... like an X throwing out all your stuff!

Tools/options/never check for updates

Same as for all software - sorted...

Thanks!

That sucks!! Seems like you should be able to have some sort of control over the updates!

that's why i love chrome

I use three different browsers: Chrome for most everything; Brave because it's the only browser I know of that doesn't have an 8-second hang after upvoting at ZeroHedge; and Firefox for crypto-related sites (exchanges, news). I do like Chrome, it's nice and speedy, but has the stigma of being associated with Google, which at some point I'll take the step to try to avoid completely. Not yet... :)

Its very pain to loss data. That's why i do not like auto update.

☁😞☁☁☁☁😞☁
☁💧☁☁☁☁💧☁
🌂🌂😞😞😞😞🌂🌂
🌂😞🌂🌂🌂🌂😞🌂
I feel so sad

When you have to switch gears to stop and go back into some technical ordeal just about puts me over the edge. I feel for you @libertyteeth

Speedy recovery!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54