Mosquito traps, made simple!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

My mom sent me this link, to make mosquito traps that work quite well: http://www.instructables.com/id/Mosquito-Killing-Ovitrap/

I made some today, and took some pictures after I completed each, and then stitched them together into a video. Hope you enjoy! [Edit: added costs at the end.]

Note that the last two images I added just because I thought it was neat -- I had cut a template out of that piece of paper, after tracing the circle of the top of one of the cups on it. I tossed the paper aside on the table, and it ended up wrapping neatly around a vase. So the first picture is above it, then the second beside it to better show the cut-out piece. :)

Also note that I would have benefited from a tripod! That way the background would have stayed the same, and each new cup would have just appeared in place.

Oh, also I didn't add captions for "make small holes for the hanging wire, and a larger drainage hole that will be below the screen level", but that's also a part of the process (see above link for the entire process).

All that's left is for me to fill a bucket with stagnant water (there's a prime source just beyond the drainage ditch we're building! :) ), then fill each cup from it, and hang them around the garden and the yard. Mosquitoes will be gone in a couple weeks!


To help other content creators, here was my process:

  1. Did a search on "make video from series of photos", and found this video, which also has the instructions in text form in the Description (which was helpful).
  2. Put that video (its Description, really) on the left side using WindowsKey+LeftArrow, then open Windows Movie Maker, and put it on the right side using WindowsKey+Right. This way I have both the instructions and the work space on-screen together.
  3. Created a folder for the photos and copied them into it. Note that my current folder structure is e.g. Documents\Steemit, under there I have one folder for each post I've done, and a "TODO" folder which currently has 8 folders under it. :)
  4. Apparently that video was from an older version of Movie Maker, so had to figure out the new interface.
  5. Clicked "Add video and photos", then selected all the photos in the "Making mosquito traps" folder, and clicked "Open".
  6. Once they've loaded, click the Edit tab, and then in the Duration change it from 7.00 to 2.50 seconds.
  7. I've gotten two spam posts on my videos yesterday, both of which were offering free music, so I figured I'd check them out. I will not advertise for the spammers, as they're collecting others' content. However, I will share the creator of the music that I chose: "Rewind Remix"[1] -- in its Description it gives a download link, so I followed that and downloaded the music, then added it to the video via the "Home" tab, then "Add Music", then select the download.
  8. Went to the new "Music Tools Options" tab that appeared after the last step, and set "Fade out" to "Medium".
  9. Played it and verified it looks and sounds good. At this point I spent some time tweaking the transition time, ending up at 3.4 seconds, so that the "beat" occurs as the image transitions.
  10. Add captions to each image. For each caption, I set the color to black, then set the Outline size to the smallest, and finally the Outline color to the one under the white box (first column, second row).
  11. Watch again, tweaking until I like it.
  12. File, Save Movie, select YouTube, then save it in the same folder as above.
  13. Upload to YouTube, get frustrated when it never finished processing (actually never started, was at 0% for ten minutes!), so delete and upload again (thanks, YouTube!).

Please give me feedback on my video, and process? Thanks!

Costs

Best part is how inexpensive it was! It was $4.84 for the Gorilla Glue silicone sealant; $6.28 for 12 pairs of socks; $20.74 for far more metal screening than I need (42" x 7'); and $11.99 for 50 of the black cups (not Solo cups, they're a little smaller, and deform much easier -- putting the sock around the mouth was difficult, and in two cases I pulled the sock off, but was able to re-glue it and it dried before I got to them).

Totaling $43.85; I made 22 of them (why not 24? I decided to try a pair of the socks, and liked them so much I kept that pair, and decided not to use the other set of 12 pairs I had bought for traps, as 22 traps is more than enough for our yard -- which brought the average price up somewhat).

Average price for each trap: $1.99.

Had I made 50, the total would have increased by $6.28 to $50.13, meaning each trap would have been slightly over $1.

The article said they had made them for 40 cents each -- I think the screening was the difference.

[1] -- It was from this video:

Sort:  

The video works great. I think the longer text slides near the beginning could be kept onscreen a little longer and the completed cups with the numbering could move along a little faster. I didn't know about this trapping method but I always wondered if outdoor traps just attracted new mosquitos to the area and so it is a problem that you can't stop in an environment prone to mosquitos. (The inverse benefit of the voting power drip - remove so it keeps coming!) That is why I always thought candles and smoke that kept mosquitos away was a better option. I'm sure there are a lot of variables that would also need to be tested like range of mosquitos and how fast they can reproduce etc. Let me know if it is effective for you. Thanks!!

Will do! And thanks a lot for the feedback, I had both thoughts myself after I watched it full-screen after uploading it, but decided I had spent enough time.

As far as candles, they work when you're near them, like on a porch or something, but if you're in the yard or garden, then either they don't work as well, or you need a lot of them.

The neat part about these traps is, they don't trap adult mosquitoes! They merely convince them to lay their eggs in the trap, which doesn't let them back out once hatched. So it will take a couple weeks, once we set them out, but after that we should notice a marked drop in mosquito bites.

The feedback really helps -- I will spend more time on the next one, because it's noticed. Thanks again!

You created the traps and the video at the same time so kudos to you. It's easy to be a critic!

Thanks for sharing :) It would help me a lot if the trap works

nice, I have to tell my girlfriend, she always get suckked out haha

:) Hope this helps!

You are very creative. Give me feed back if the mosquito trap worked.

Will do! They're still on the table right now, we've been spending time finishing the drainage ditch. It'll be done today, then I'll need to do more video editing. Thanks for the feedback, it keeps me going! :)

You are welcome. But i dont think your country suffers from mosquitoes that much rite?

Yeah actually they're starting to get vicious out there, and when one followed me in and started making a meal out of me, I decided to make them. :)

Lol. Ok i understand.

Begone mosquitos ! Hate those things 😐

Me too, i don't like mosquitoes. In my country there are alot of them. We trying to see how we can get reed of them completely.

Yeah I've had these plans for a couple weeks, and one followed me into the house and bit me while I was Steeming! Got her, and then decided it was time to start construction. :)

the real traps @libertyteeth

That was hell amazing hahah

Thanks! Glad you liked it, I've got a few others lined up for production. (Wow I sound so pro! :) )

PRO in the Building let’s hear it for @libertyteeth

nice video from ur mom sir its make a beutifull design in black

Thanks! And, sorry if I was confusing, she sent me the instructables link -- the video is of my construction yesterday. :)

Good idea. Thanks for sharing. :)

Cool, glad you liked it! :)

nice @libreteeth sir ur mom is also genius laday i respect her ur great mom which tell u to some thing new..and 1st video is also wonder full

Thanks, appreciate the feedback! I plan to do more, have taken several videos of the drainage ditch in progress. I'm thinking of seeing if I can make them all appear at once, as I walk from the beginning to the end of it; not every pass is done in the same amount of time, so I'll need to figure it out as I go... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64