eSteem post #6: "Try to cheer someone else up" - Mark Twain

in #life7 years ago (edited)

"The best way to cheer yourself is to try to cheer someone else up."

~Mark Twain~


image
Source

This quote is fairly straight forward. We all do have a bad days. Those days where you feel upset with no reasons, and/or everything just seems to go wrong. I get these days sometimes and my anxiety makes them even worse. There are times that I don't know how to cheer myself up.

So how can I cheer someone else up if I couldn't even be happy myself?

I worked in a care home as a health care nurse for six years. Now I'm working in a palliative care, with people who are dying. It's sad, there are times that I have tears in my eyes everytime they became unresponsive and being picked up by the funeral homes because I usually get attatched to them even though I try hard not to.

I always do my best to bring smiles in their faces during their last days or weeks. I would tell funny stories or jokes around them or even just making them breakfast or lunch. I also had patients who don't have family anymore. During my free time, I would sit at their bedside holding their hands while talking to them.

Yes, I have some bad days, sometimes it's tough to smile and be around people. But seeing my patients smile and happy is very rewarding to me. At the end of the day, I always feel good knowing that I made someone happy by being there for them.

When we are down, we often seek someone to cheer us up. But why don't we try cheering someone day's up?

I believe by focusing on others instead of ourselves, it will make us happier. Thinking of others can give us a greater sense of peace and wellbeing knowing that we made a difference in someone else’s day.

I hope this message brings you inspiration.




~lovely~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53778.84
ETH 2224.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30