Why do people see my passion as worthless?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Nothing is ever worthless if you pour your heart and soul out for it.

art dance.jpg

Source

Hello everyone! Today, I am posting about passion and the reasons why we always gravitate back to doing what we love despite what others keep on telling what’s better for us. Before anything else, Let’s start first by defining the word passion.

I have joined a contest about defining the word ‘Passion’ and this was my entry to it:

“Passion is like a fire burning for your dreams; It's what you love. It is what your heart desires. Some people may tell you about what track or path you follow but nobody can stop you from constantly doing what you love.”

I have always been a believer in the idea that every person in this world has a path to follow and that path depends on what the person is passionate about. You love what you do and that is why you put all your heart out just to be good and even the best at it. Somebody around you, may it be your parents or friends, tell you what to do otherwise but nothing in this world can ever make you feel the same love you feel towards the things that you are fond of doing. Passion is like your forever commitment for what you love and that satisfies you. You definitely do it not for monetary gain or honor but for self-fulfillment. As for me, I love dancing and it has been my passion for years.

I am a dance enthusiast my whole life since the time I found love for dancing. Way back in high school, where it was the phase for developing one’s potentials and discovering a niche, I, together with my friends joined dance presentations and even contests during school events and extracurricular activities. That was the time when we discovered that we love dancing until then we decided to join a dance workshop during summer to enhance our skills more. We danced with other aspiring dancers and we actualized our purpose and eventually became one of them. After a couple of months, we became certified members of the dance team, the Dance Impulse Productions, now the “League of Aces.” So now we prefer to call our group by that name or by its abbreviation L.O.A. Anyway, I have been with this group for about 5 years already and I am proud to be part of this big family.

diaypeh.jpg

Being with this group is always a fulfilling moment. I don’t just develop my skills in dancing but also my personality as a whole. They become one of the contributors to the development of my character- I was not only physically healthy but also psychologically and emotionally.

Let me share with you some of the dance performances I had when I was in College.

school1.jpg

This was my last dance competition in school in which it was the first time ever that our college won as the Champion.

Video

school2.jpg

An interschool Dance Competition in which we were the 3rd Placer. We represented the College of Engineering this time. I was with my co-members from the League of Aces who were also students from the same school I graduated.

Video

school4.jpg

I was once the Psychology Department Dance Awardee. On the photo, I was with my co-dancers from our department. This was during the College week PopDance Competition in which we undoubtedly won. :D


17796373_2012073045486281_2158188464808462267_n.jpg

The League of Aces represented Iligan City during the HipHop International Regional Dance Competition held at Cebu City last 2017. This was the first biggest competition we joined and for this year we're hoping to finally reach the Nationals (fingers crossed)

Video


As I was looking for these videos, I was quite feeling nostalgic because I miss some of the people I danced and worked with especially those times when I was still in College. I miss the environment and I miss the best part of my College days which is dancing during "Palakasan" or Intramurals. :3

Whenever I dance, I forget my worries and stress. In other words, dancing makes me feel good and sane. According to Telegraph website, “You appear to get a much bigger release of endorphins when you dance than during other forms of exercise; it also connects with the emotional centers in the brain”. It is also congruent to what Psychology says. That is why dancing is a better outlet whenever I feel sad, uneasy or burnout. I always get excited and pumped every time.

Now let me go back to what I have titled this blog. Why do people see my passion as worthless?

As I have said, I have been with this group for about 5 years already but the thing was my parents weren’t that supportive because they thought that I might get low grades in school. They also told me that I will never get in return any monetary gain from all the hard works I did for it. It was something that was not worth to be prioritized in life and I should have found some other hobby to focus that will surely give me something in return. I was so doubtful at first. I became so unsure of what was better to do. I once tried to stop for a month and not participated in any dance-related activities even inside the school. But I then realized something was losing from me. Dancing has become my identity and I couldn’t just scratch it out from my whole being. I was made to dance and it is absolutely my passion. I told my parents how much I loved dancing. I have tried to prove to them that my studies won’t be ruined because of it. It was a hard time to explain over and over again until there came the time that I graduated. I wasn’t just an ordinary graduate (trying to be humble here); I finished school with flying colors. What was more interesting was that I became the dance awardee of the college. I wasn’t expecting another award but it made me boost my self-esteem. I realized that all the hard works were paid off and I somehow made my parents proud knowing that I didn’t follow what they wanted for me. I had to go against them because it wasn’t meant for me. Something else was meant for me and that was to be able to manage and balance my academic activities with my passion for dancing.

From that time, I made them understood my choices in life. They had to know how much I love my passion and how it makes me feel. It is my way of self-expression and I pour it all out through dancing. Indeed, nothing is ever worthless if you pour your heart and soul out for it.

In spite of that, I still have other goals in life that are to be congruent with what my parents want for me. Dancing is just my driving force to keep me moving and motivates me to work hard and achieve my goals in life. Nothing can ever stop me from dancing or doing what I love because it will be like trying to get a part of my personality. Dancing is my life and I will keep doing it until the end of time. That is how committed I am with my passion.

For those who are having the same case with mine, I just want to remind you that all of us came here in this world with a purpose. If you find your purpose through being an educator- teaching kids and young individuals- then go for it. If you find happiness through playing basketball or any type of sports then go for it. If you find your self singing and being on television and movies then go for it. What I am trying to inculcate to everyone is that you should always seek for what satisfies and makes you happy. You will then know what it will bring to you when you follow and do the things that you love. Some people may tell you to stop or discourage you from it. You just need to refocus your mind and think of not what others think for you. Everything will then follow and direct you to your destiny. It's just a matter of what you are passionate about that gives you the drive to keep moving and reaching your other goals in life. You are not living your life through others' ways. You have to live your life your way. I am not discrediting the parents' roles here. I am just encouraging everyone to be true to yourself by being who you really are and what you want to be. I know parents will always back you up no matter what your choices will be. :)

Thanks for reading everyone! Hope this inspires you all especially those who are having a hard time with the path they are following right now. The only key for that is to have faith in yourself :) God bless and have a good one!

By the way Steemians!
I encourage you all to support and vote
Terry @surpassinggoogle as your witness. Read his blogs and I'm sure you'll be inspired. Thank you!
Just click here and type 'steemgigs' on the first box.

a.png
b.png

U5dtTkKheiGA5GsgxJfpP9pgg1YV4Bc_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Wooh! You are worth it! Keep your passion burning. It is you who can decide your worth.

Love your post @levinvillas. I know your parents were proud of you. Keep Steeming!
Aja!
Xoxo
@gerel

woah Thank you @gerel! I have read your @steemsecrets revelation and it's really inspiring. Thank you for the kind words! :)

Thank you 😍..
Have a great day ahead!

Maybe because of the culture we have here in the PH. You know in other countries, they appreciate art. Dance is an art and art is costly. People does not realize that art and science is equal but in the settings here in the Ph or in our society, they see art as unexceling profession.

It's just that, Philippines doesn't still completely adapt the pop culture which originated from the west. :3 So sad but I guess soon enough people will realize its value as a form of art. :)

I think that the Philippines tries to embrace the pop culture. However I think its the problem of the people in our society because they tend to have double standards that would ruin the passion of an individual

This post has received a 0.08 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Wag kang ganyan please. They cannot understand kasi. Charot. Mwa

abas . lage oy. sauna pa. merrr gipagawas ra nko dri hehehe

don't think about what others think... just love what you are doing and that alone will bring you to your dreams... keep it up!

Couldnt agree more. Thank you!! :)

Continue to nurture your talent. Never mind what others say or think. 😊

Thanks so much! I appreciate it a lot :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by levinvillas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I admire your passion, keep it and don't give in to envious people.

Courtesy of @aschatria this post received 100% FREE UPVOTE for quality post submitted to Die Hard Steemit Discord group. Thank you for being our valuable member and active content creator on Steemit. To support this initiative, please support our daily post. Thank you!

Thank you so much! :)

Congratulations @levinvillas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63