I'm bouncing off and flying higher - this time; a trip around the world!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

The upcoming around the world trip is a result of the last few years of hard work and demanding everydays that has kind of taken its toll on me. Every now and then I feel the need and urge to just drop everything and get going following my instinct and heart. I've had my getaways now and then to keep those urges to leaveunder control, but those adventures have been more of an sudden possibility I've jumped on to and nothing that I've planned on years in advance. I'll tell you about those adventures in later posts sometime (keywords: southpole, reality tv, outdoor activites and extreme sports). But this time the feeling is different, this is a trip I've felt the urge to do for quite a while and it comes from deep down in my heart.

Aiming high!

A winter day the Saab Safari plays in the skies. This is the kind of small airplane the Norwegian military flight school uses to select who gets to become studentpilots in the Airforce

Like I said already, the last few years has been wearing me down with a demanding job (I work as a helicopter pilot in the airforce), I've been through some rough patches in private matters, and my body is telling me to chill out by giving me all kinds of aches to hold me back from all the active sports I love. I've ended up spending more and more time in convalescence after every funtime with my gliders, bike, hikes or climbing gear. It's been taking it's toll for sure, both mentally and physically, and just before christmas I was just an inch away of hitting that well known wall of burnout and I kind of crashed. I feel like an 60 year old soul in a 35 year old frame that has the quality of an eighty year old lady body. Except the wrincles. Luckily. ;-)

I'm blessed with both good days with great people and fun times, and also those cloudy days when it's been hard to see nothing but drainage of energy. It's important to feel and experience both of the extremities to recognize the other. ;-)

Since I was a young girl I've always had this nomad feeling within, to always move forward and look out 360 degrees to learn more. I've made bold decisions based on the lack of knowledge of what I was about to get myself into..hehe..which has turned out to be some of the best things happening in my life. Don't get me wrong, I've always been the "good girl" to the extent of bored and risk averse, but I've tried to follow my gut feeling, like when I applied school into a very male dominant work as an officer and helicopter pilot in the military. But that's a different story.
This way I've entered without prejudice and been open to the possibility to succeed. And in retrospect I see that I've succeeded for the most part, and the times I haven't it's been a redirection to something else and sometimes better.

Therefore I'm off to this around the world journey. My heart left on this journey long time ago, now my head and my body needs to follow and catch up with it. :-)


leaving this? Craziness? :)


And this? :D

I LOVE the winter! I guess what I miss out off this year I'll double up next year. ;)

Read more about my reflections about resolutions for 2018 inspiring me to get off my butt and get going here :)

All text and images are produced by me unless otherwise credited. This is original content, for Steemit only.

Sort:  

great post. you got me. I start following you and want to know more;-)

Thanks! :smile:

Hello! I totally get that burned out feeling. Felt like I was hitting the wall before x-mas as well. Too many assignments, too little time. My muscles started to shake and palm of my feet and hands started to tingle. I think it's important to listen to the signals the body is giving us and take that into account when moving forward.
Great that you're off to the big adventure in the world and hopefully you'll be able to get the most out of it! I wish you safe travels and look forward to read all about it! :) Helen

Hei Helen! That's exactly what it is - time/assignment ration is the other way around. Thanks for your kind words! I guess it's all down to two kind of people; those who have experienced it and those who are going to. The world is racing. Can't wait to get going on the trip and turn around that ratio for a while and hopefully come back with a fully charged mind and body. :)

Fully charged mind and body sounds like a great goal for the world trip. Hope you’ll give us some posts about your travel experiences in here:)

I recognize feeling like a nomad! I can’t wait to follow your adventure. Make sure to Steem about it!

I hear you! Sisters in nomad-hearts! I sure will Steem and hopefully make people dream and maybe go on a journey themselves. :smile:

Amazing @level.north, thank you for sharing😀👍🏻

Thank you Heidi Marie! :D

Congratulations @level.north! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63166.66
ETH 2575.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77