T-Minus 8 Weeks and Counting

in #life5 years ago

Dear Daniel Craig,

So here we are T-minus 8 and a half weeks to the filming of Letters to Daniel. So much time has been invested into my trio of mental health legacy projects over the last month I haven’t had much time to invest into my actual blog.

So what have I accomplished? We are now fully cast! We need to pick -up a few Pas but crew wise we’re small but mighty and way bigger than I’ve ever had before. The shot-list is done at least crack at it is. Missy and Mark still have their magic to sprinkle on it. Locations we will be signing contracts and compensating them in May and June. Call sheets have gone out.

The most exciting development is our film with a temporary score will screen for distributors at AOF. People, if you ever dreamed big AOF is a special place. I go every year I’m accepted. And even if I don’t get accepted I would still go. So many friends, mentors made and I am blessed to be showered with AOF’s  unique brand of love for it’s creators of all stripes.

Don’t believe me, see for yourself and enter your script, film, score or 1 sheet. And see what AOF Megafest has to offer.

This summer has been a long time in coming.

Initially birthed as a simple blog to convey my memoirs (kicked off by an open letter of gratitude to my favorite actor) it carried onto an actual bestselling book, then to a documentary that cost 345 dollars to make. Then my best friend and screenwriting partner buckled down and adapted that book to a dramatic screenplay. All the while winning awards and transforming ourselves into mental health advocates.

It was a role I stumbled into but in an interview Del told me to remember I was more than a filmmaker and ever since I’ve embraced the role with relish. With the creation of my web series Recovery Unplugged and my Facebook page Amy Unplugged advocacy has taken up a large part of my life. The other part is a full time job as in self-care in the face of the ever present bipolar disorder.

In 2015, 9 days out from production the first time, on Letters to Daniel, I was forced to shut down production. Lost virtually all of the original cast including the leads. And most of the locations that had agreed the first time, opted not to sign on for another go round.

For two years it was a series of it’s not the right time. Producers talking big but saying nothing. Hitting a brick wall where money was concerned. A lying agent. A toxic manager. Until I just said fuck it. With or without help we’re making this thing.

You know how we got our producer Aaron Allen. Everything else has been a blessing. My core festivals all playing their parts. AOF, Indie Gathering, and  yes even Imaginarium.

Success is what you make of it. I had to shift my idea of what success was to get to the level I wanted to achieve. With the writer’s strike hitting Hollywood I think what crappy timing. I’m just hoping it’s settled by the time I head out to AOF in July.

I feel like this film is mine and Missy ticket to bigger and better things. God knows we have been through the war together and success would be a very sweet reward. As it is I just remain grateful for my day to day sanity and my desire to create evermore.

Sincerely,

Amy McCorkle



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://g1nbc.net/healing-hands/t-minus-8-weeks-and-counting/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59417.60
ETH 2672.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44