You're not going to believe this, but the card is DOA.

in #life7 years ago

So after slotting it in and playing games and running unity a little bit, guess what? I contacted the tech support today and told them about the problems I was having with the card, there were technically three things going on with the card. There were weird rainbow coloured Christmas lights popping up so as far as horrible artifacts go at least that one was pretty to look at. Assuming this was some weird driver issue I installed earlier drivers and tried experimenting because as most people who play with AMD cards will know that's often all it is.

Guess what? More issues popped up, textures were flickering and causing weirdness, I looked up online and thought that maybe it could have something to do with what the manufacturer did to their cards because there were videos going about that suggested they underclocked their cards. The reason I thought this might be a possibility is because on auto-detect settings all of my games would immediately set everything to low even though this card was designed for 1080p.

Nope though, it wasn't going to be that simple, to see what somebody professional thought I contacted the tech support department of the place I ordered from and they immediately told me it was probably DOA, that means Dead On Arrival for those not in tech. The good news is though that with the customer service being what it is they were pretty sympathetic and said they would send a courier over which means the returns process will be much faster than last time and what I will probably do is just ask for a replacement because I just need a reliable card.

At least I know it's not the drivers now and I'll be able to just install the latest without problems hopefully when it gets sorted :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63835.35
ETH 2630.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82