Hell yes! My computer is back and working!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Well just about anyway, after RMAing the Nvidia card which will now be shipped off to EVGA for inspection and will apparently take 30 days there was no way in hell I was going to chance it that they'll get back to me within optimistically even a couple of weeks. So getting a new card was the obvious choice and it looks like I was totally justified. After some initial pissing about with drivers and BIOS settings which I completely forgot about enabling because I had to use on board graphics everything seems to be just about back to normal. It will take some fine tuning but it looks like this card will be totally fine for what I want to do though of course I'm probably going to look at upgrading to something nicer in the future anyway.

Two things to bear in mind when buying a new graphics card when it comes to just the general software, I'd thought I'd write up a little troubleshooting demo for people who are unfamiliar with AMD cards because they are pretty fucking annoying to set up sometimes if you forget the steps.

  1. Check your BIOS settings, I suppose this can be applied to Nvidia cards as well but because of the way AMD handles things your computer has a particularly bad reaction to not having the right chipset, you'll need to select either PCI or PCI Express in the options menu bit confusing, but that's just how it works. If you don't the AMD drivers and windows won't even detect the card right and it will make you think as I did there's something wrong with a component somewhere but always check this firs

  2. Install earlier drivers, I don't know what the fuck it is with AMD and their programmers but holy shit, I had to go back quite a few months before I found drivers that comfortably worked for me. The performance of my new RX 560 is actually quite good considering but the fucking drivers are appalling as ever with AMD if anyone wants to explain this to me, I had this weird problem with glittering lights on the screen nearby light sources quite often in games? These weren't part of the scenery, they were just multi-coloured and would flash up every now and then even though the game was running smooth, installing earlier drivers fixes the problem.

Expect more posts now that I can make content and work on my games guys! I'm hoping I can make it for a Christmas release for my game but we'll see what happens considering the drama I've had recently it's just going to be a matter of seeing whether this is all the bad luck I have had.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50