Yesterday I Lost My Dad, and the World Lost a Great Poet

in #life7 years ago (edited)

IMG-0815.JPG

The wistfulest thing about my father's passing is also the wistfulest thing about his art: no one but us, his family, know its greatness.

My dad, Ray O'Hara, was a wordsmith all his life, but wrote most of his poetry in the sixties. He and some college friends put out a poetry rag called The Golliard, which never amounted to much, as poetry endeavors mostly don't. Afterwards, he collected a sheaf of his own poems, typed up on onion skin paper on an old Royal typewriter, bound in a red chad folder. Across the front, with the ink of one of those plain white Bic pens he always kept in his shirt pocket, he wrote its title: POULTRY. He told me he sent the collection off to several publishing houses, but even then, poetry wasn't an easy sell, and editors weren't an easy bunch to please, and so the collection was never published.

At some point in between the crafting of these poems and the birth of my older sister, Dad's writing practice waned. He switched from using up typewriter ribbons to selling them. But he never stopped viewing the world through a poet's eye or appraising it with a poet's tongue.

I grew up in the heady atmosphere of high altitude language. Other kids played football or catch with their dads; I practiced wordplay with mine. Words were tools and words were treasures. Words were meant to be combined and contorted, and if you bent them just so, you could make them mean things they weren't meant to mean--and what a scalp-shivering rush you would experience when it was your own brain that hammered out such a construction.

IMG-0816.JPG

Dad died yesterday morning after a six-month long battle with cancer's minions, the secondary infections. Or, as in the words of another great poet, A.E. Housman, "to the wind's twelve quarters," he took his "endless way." I hugged his empty body, and kissed his recently vacated head, and then the mortuary people came to collect him, and I shortly found myself sitting on the floor with POULTRY, tearfully remembering my dad, and marveling at the arrangements of words that once flowed out of his head and heart.

As the only surviving family wordsmith, I'm tasked with composing the obituary. What can I say? What paragraph can encapsulate this man? He was loved, as all good fathers and husbands are; he hailed from Florida, hated the humidity, and escaped "as soon as he could"; he endured an uninspiring career in office supply sales in order to put food on the table while the typewriter paper starved for lack of verse. He enjoyed being in the woods and keeping Bic pens in his shirt pocket; he is survived by his wife, two daughters, a granddaughter, and a world that does not know how it suffers for not having read his words.

I will now attempt to remedy that last, if only in a small way, by publishing, posthumously, some of Ray O'Hara's POULTRY. Please enjoy this tiny piece of my father's legacy.

Credo

Poetry
comes tortured and
needing, resolves
itself and goes
leaving foolscap
discolored with echoes
of caring.
...It is not justified.

Life
comes cockeyed hopeful,
devours sporadically
itself, at best,
and leaves only shards
and sorrows that mutate
before they perish.
...It cannot be justified.

Love
comes livid and desperate,
causing the pangs of
itself, and goes
attaining none of its ends,
but creating
poetry and life
...and is thus justified.

The Plethora Machine

There is fire in the scrub-oak,
searing a howled sky, and I
burn the thickets of English
to find the ravening verbs
and tigerish phrases I need.
But only simpering words are left,
not worthy to go with you
into the still, whimpering ash.

Facade

The house across
the street has a sly way
of garnering light
about its arches
as if someone
loved there.

Materiel

The harsh palmetto,
dark and bright in the sun,
has fronds that would comb the brain.

Its seething clumps seem
impolite and obscene
to
man
with
his
love

of
ranks
and
of
rows.

But the berries make good wine
and the fans make good mats
and the shade makes good
rattlesnakes.

Remember Daddy

His voice, the timbre
of him escapes me.

He can't have been tall,
I guess. It's funny

That remembering him
hurts so much less

Than these strangler's thumbs
of forgetfulness.

Carnival

The sign says sno-
cones over thirty
delicious flavors.

She wants this
too and I
grope wallet-ward

thinking how cold
are bought things.

Absence

She has gone, and I retain
just the savor of her name
in these vacant afternoons.
Be silent, savage mind,
that I may gain a time
to quietly adopt my wounds.

Man in a Long Box

This overly-furnished parlor, then, is your patriarchal
waystation. Your dead peers are peering at us
from the walls.

The pastor has expressed his belief, in verse,
recited twice, that your frequent weekends
out of church involved some cool, dappled-faun
love of the woods. How can a man know how
to pray for you, Grandfather, if he knows nothing
of the hot trails, the panting dogs, the hot kill?

There are several shocking things:
Glass and bright metal rest you, who were more
at ease with wood and leather. Your hands
aren't clever, anymore, on this expanse of best suit.
Death. Is death, then, feminine? We must think so,
our people, or we would not have let them rouge
your face.

Your hair, at least, is right. The practiced part.
The barber, still barbered perfectly.

We would like to leave this place, Grandfather,
but your wife, mother and grandmother to us all,
will not depart her bitter watch.
We talk of the fine weather, the massed flowers.
But she will only stay, and cry, and say,
"That's my flower in there," and "That's
my flower in there."

The Cute Way They Kicked Us Out

I recall the tall islands of Puget Sound
and the way the ground-birds ran
screaming narrowly by the surf
when sea-mist settled in the trees.

The funny thing is that I have eaten
bagels in Tijuana and spaghetti
in the villages of Okinawa,
but my friend from Calcutta
can't buy hamburgers in Florida.

The ground birds howl here, too,
obscuring the fact that home
is a myth of my people.

dad-in-bellbottoms.jpg


I love you, Steemit!

@lesliestarrohara

Sort:  

"Deep words from your past
have now flowed through another.
For this, I am glad."

Leslie, I'm so very sorry for your loss.
At the same time, I am thankful to have discovered your blog today and to have had the privilege of "meeting" you, and through you, your brilliant father.

Thank you.

😄😇😄

@creatr

I'm sorry for your loss. What a wonderful tribute to your father. I'm glad that words brought you together so much, and meant so much to you both. I hope you can continue to find comfort in his words and those you will create, too.

I appreciate the condolences, @haphazard-hstead

I'm grateful I have these poems to remember him by.

Sincerest condolences.

As stated in "Credo," love creates poetry and life. Furthermore, poetry (or any words) and life express the truth of eternal and infinite spirit.

Long live love, its expression, and its spirit.

Thank you, @majes.tytyty

I always remember those lines and try to craft my word creations out of love.

Wonderful. May all your words and all your expressions be those of love.

I loved these poems and this memoriam, Starr. May your father rest in peace, and may you, as their caretaker, keep his precious poems alive always.

I love that black & white picture above, as well. Definitely from another (but well-remembered) time.

Thanks Alex. I wish there were some kind of posthumous poetry contest I could submit some of these to.

I love that photo, too. It was taken when my dad worked at J.C. Penney in Tampa, in the piece goods department. He selected the fabric for the ridiculous bell bottoms he's wearing from his stock, and paid an elderly neighbor lady to sew them.

I'm sorry to hear about your dad. Condolences to your loss. I can see he was a very special man. His poetry is wonderful. In a fair world he would have been recognized for his writing.
Keep his writing alive for him, and for yourself.
Peace,
Joe

What a touching tribute to a talented man. The bond you had with your father is unique and precious.

Condolences again on the loss of your father.

I'm sure you are busy with the handling of his estate and your family responsibilities - but could you check in with a quick comment or a message on Steemit Chat? When one of my favorite writers suddenly goes silent, I worry!

Hey! I missed this, somehow. I had a lot of stuff going on the past couple of months, but I'm back. Thanks for checking in!

Oh hello! I haven't been keeping up with my feed and just this morning I thought, if we don't hear from Leslie soon I'm going to have to organize a Steemit search party.

So glad to find you're back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60883.28
ETH 2401.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63