Hard Times Create Strong Men

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Do you think this is true? What phase are we currently in?

hard-times-good-times.jpg

I think we are now entering the fourth phase of this cycle. The good thing about that is that it means we might see the second phase before we leave this planet. The bad part is we're going to have to live through Phase 1.


I love you, Steemit!

@lesliestarrohara

Sort:  

Great post!

As Will Rogers said,

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment

From my perspective, all of nature is like this. Strangely, we don't have a term for the reality that everything that nature creates needs moderate opposition or tension in order to stay healthy -- which tells me that this concept is just now percolating its way into our brains.

The closest word we have is "hormesis", which is a biphasic response, "low dose stimulation, high dose inhibition", but our lack of general conceptual awareness of this is why Taleb coined the term "anti-fragility."

On some level we are aware of this, however -- we understand "use it or lose it", and we understand that exercise makes us more fit.

The next phase of development for us as a species, I think, is to become aware of the need for this in all aspects of life. Awareness of this should lead us to question the long term consequences of social safety nets, and to recognize that as a species, we have to learn to lean into the wind, to lean into the pain in order to stay healthy. But that will probably lead to a dichotomy in our society, because a large portion of society just wants to escape any pain at all -- which is an express train to parasitism.

...as a species, we have to learn to lean into the wind, to lean into the pain in order to stay healthy. But that will probably lead to a dichotomy in our society, because a large portion of society just wants to escape any pain at all--which is an express train to parasitism.

Imagine if this realization were the next major human philosophical leap. And that the dichotomy you mentioned did unfold. Could two societies--one grounded in the "use it or lose it" philosophy, and the other built upon safety nets and safe spaces--ever coexist? Maybe that would be the starting point of our evolution into separate subspecies.

This reminds me of my working theory of how human societies fail or thrive like ecosystems. Maybe I should do a post on that sometime.

Thanks for the awesome comment, @gwiss.

Mind. Blown.

I would love to read that post!

That's the true story of Mughal Empire of India.

This is absolutely true, everything is based on cycles. And I believe we would be in 'the weak create hard times' phase. Cool post, thanks

Hello ,I like this blog Follow and Upvote ...
Please upvote me and follow , visit my funny blog :) Thank you

Lol @lesliestarrohara, you post is so short that I've almost decided not to read it (I don't like short posts), but I'm glad I did, it's up to a point, no need for much further explanation. Cheers! : )

I exactly got it :( That is what we should learn from life! Never be arrogant and proud when its your good time!

Good post

The last phase would be my feeling.

I think the confusing thing is that society is very diffuse.
So "good times" doesn't apply to everything in society.
There's a lot of difference in strength between men in the same society.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54