Conservative BS on Handout

in #life5 years ago

A conservative wrote in local newspaper today the following - " it’s the handouts that destroy one’s incentive to work that’s bad.".

I disagree with that statement. Handouts do not destroy one's incentive to work. They help us sustain us through the most difficult times. I have been unemployed for long periods of time due to the result of my own actions. Yet, things like Medical, Obamacare, and unemployment insurance have been a big help.

They have helped me through the difficult times without resorting to drain through my precious savings too much. They have preserved the incentive to work by waiting for the right job to come and provide additional resources while working part-time to get through a rough patch.

The concept that handouts are a disincentive to work is crazy. It is what gets us through the hard times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58213.71
ETH 2257.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49