A Slow Autobiography: Before Elementary

in #life8 years ago

This is what I remember of my life before the age of 6, as a boy growing up in suburban Oregon.

I didn't go to kindergarten, for the simplest of reasons: my family didn't have the money at that time.

I had a mild speech impediment: I couldn't pronounce the letter 'L'. This was problematic, as my name begins with that letter. I took some speech therapy classes at the local university, and cleared that up.

I had a puppy, a terrier mix of some sort; he had lots of energy, and broke one of his legs jumping off of the couch.

I had my own accident from that couch: I was watching Sesame Street, and somehow fell backwards onto the coffee table. I got a cut on my head that required a few stitches. My grandfather had made the coffee table, inlaid with slices of geodes he and my grandmother had found during their 'snowbird' months in Arizona.

I was good at math, so my father's aunt gave me some math workbooks (I think they were third-grade level); she was an elementary school principal.

Sort:  

Great. take good care of your puppy @les-peters

Regrettably, we lost him. We did not have a fenced-in yard, so we would connect his collar to a leash, and have the leash on our rotating clothesline (think of an patio umbrella without the fabric). One day, we went to bring him into the house, and found that someone had released him. He was eight years old.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40