A Short Story About Uber, Serendipity and my Lost Wedding Ring

in #life7 years ago (edited)

0496_WED_Sherryl_Bart.JPG

Sometimes it briefly feels like fate is real.

Two weeks ago I Uber drove a delightful young couple from Palo Alto to San Francisco International airport.

The pick up was confusing. I waited a few minutes on the opposite side of the road. It was a quiet, leafy, narrow road. Finally I decided to U-turn and wait outside their house. Mid-turn they appeared, from where I just was. I think I'd actually passed the guy getting out of his car when I arrived. I stopped Old Bluey awkwardly, double parked. Then I disembarked, to load their single suitcase.

Being in the middle of the road, as I was, it was a rush job. I quickly dropped the luggage handle, half-tossed it into the boot, and jogged back to the driver's seat. Then I confirmed the destination and carefully sped off.

Two blocks later something felt strange. I glanced at my ring finger. No wedding ring. Had it slipped off on the suitcase handle? Was it lying in the road? Had I even put it on that morning..?

"My wedding ring..." I said out loud, "I don't know if I had my wedding ring."

I never usually engage my passengers cold, but I was in panic.

"Are you talking to us?" said the guy.

I explained the situation. The girl said she leaves jewellery at home all the time and forgets if she's put it on. The guy told me they could stop the ride if I needed to deal with the situation. I said thanks but it's ok.

I convinced myself the ring was at home, perhaps because I felt a professional duty to fulfil a transportation contract; perhaps because I knew a search in the road would be long and fruitless.


As we approached the airport I raised my concern again, for some reason. I think I needed reassurance. I was devastated that I'd potentially lost my wedding ring, six days after our third wedding anniversary no less.

The guy told me I could say these words to my wife:

"The ring was just a symbol. My love for you will never fade."

I asked if he wrote greeting cards. He did not. But he said he did know a man who could make me a new ring, or something. I can't remember exactly. I didn't want a new ring anyway. I wanted my wedding ring.

I dropped them off at the airport. They were cool.


I arrived home a few hours later and checked the spot where I leave my ring overnight. No ring. PANIC.

My wife was there. I apologised. I explained. I apologised some more. I think I was more upset than she was.

I told her I was going back to Palo Alto to check in the road. And I did. I spent a good half hour on my knees, kicking leaves, looking under cars. It was bin day too so there were myriad nooks and crannies where it may have nestled. I checked potholes, curbs, tree trunks. I moved Bluey to the other side of the road. All the while I was dodging cars, trying to look not weird.

I called my wife to apologise again. Said I was giving up. Sorry. So sorry. She said stop apologising.

I searched for another ten minutes then drove home.


Later that day I was out Ubering again. Heading home over the Dumbarton Bridge my phone lit up with a strange number. I answered.

"Hey, Bart?"

"Yes?"

"This is Cory."

Cory...

Cory!

"Cory!! Hi!!

Cory was the guy's name from earlier.

"Did you find your ring?"

"No... did you?"

"What does it look like?"

"Titanium. Plain..."

"We just landed in Mexico. I think I have it."

"Whaaaaaaa?????" (I may have said this. Not sure.)

It was hard to hear him because I was traveling quite fast and Bluey does not have much in the way of sound insulation. But I gleaned the following information.

After dropping them off at the airport, they had checked their suitcase and gone through security.

The suitcase had undergone god knows what complex system of baggage handling. Probably something like in Die Hard 2: Die Harder but with less killing. It'd been thrown on a plane, travelled however far Mexico is, then been thrown off and onto a luggage truck, then onto a baggage carousel. Then Cory had seen his suitcase and pulled it off.

And then...

Cory had heard a little tinkle. He had looked on the floor. There was a ring. A ring that had somehow clung inside a little unzipped telescopic handle pocket (I believe it had been unzipped the whole time), travelled on an international journey, and finally been found by the only two people who could understand its significance.

And then Cory had called me. Probably an expensive call! I gave him my real phone number—he had called me through the Uber system. I told him I loved him. And I did. A good man. A pure soul.


A few days later Cory texted me. I wanted to take my wife to meet him, to thank him personally, to bring him craft beer. Alas that did not work out.

But he did mail it to me. FedEx dropped it off two hours ago.

Thank you, Cory. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

FullSizeRender 71.jpg

Epilogue: There is a valuable lesson to be learned from this. Talk about your problems. Tell someone. They may be able to help in the most unexpected way. People are good people.

Thank you for reading.



Main photo © 2014 Sebastian Ho

Sort:  

what a great story that was to read so nice :)

Thank you 🙏 Glad you enjoyed it 😊

How coincidental! And how happy this must make you #expectmiracles

Very much so. I wrote this story because @luey asked me to.

It somehow seems unremarkable, although it really is wonderful. A strange feeling.

I cannot imagine how you felt. Many many thanks to Cory. I wish you and your wife could have met him. I want to give Cory some craft beer!! Oh how crazy some things in life work out. What the slim chance of all this happening and getting your ring back.
This is inspiring for mankind and how good people can be. I like your ending words about talking to others. They may be able to help. This is true. The power of words and the power of serendipity. Imiagine if you did not say you lost your ring and in Mexico Cory found this ring in his luggage...

Yes, exactly! Or if I had not impressed upon them how important this was to me. I do wonder if they zipped the handle pocket up before checking the bag in, but even so, for them to notice such a tiny thing tinkling to the floor in an airport is wonderful.

Nice story mate, thanks for sharing!

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Hiya!

Many thanks and you're welcome.

All sounds good to me. Thank you for that compliment. If you do share the main photo please make sure it is credited as in the article, because it's not mine.

All the best :)

Yes of course, we will link it to your post don´t worry :D

Nice story :) I really enjoyed it

Thanks, buddy! 😄

Welcome :)

the world is a really small place.

Excellent post friend

A thousand thanks.

Nice post

Many thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79