Can we guess why clickbait headlines will make you click? This is why!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Company Buzzsumo (do they like Sumo?) made an analysis of the most successful phrases in headlines - those that made people not only click but also "like" on facebook.

If you clicked on this post then you fell for the power of those phrases: The headline is literally the "Top 3" of them. Of course it helps to have a good picture, even if it has nothing to do with the post.


pic CC0

The big surprise is the winner: The phrase "will make you" is at top.

This phrase “will make you” gained more than twice the number of Facebook engagements as the second most popular headline trigram. This was a surprise. When we started out looking for top trigrams, this one wasn’t even on our list.

So why does this particular trigram or three word phrase work so well? One of the interesting things is that it is a linking phrase. It doesn’t start or end a headline, rather it makes explicit the linkage between the content and the potential impact on the reader.

Here are the tops:

Go to their article

Brought to you via BoingBoing

Sort:  

Very interesting study. Certainly a level of psychology that goes into headlines, though it would be interesting to see a study of Steemians vs Buzzfeeders. Haha

I would really like to see an analysis of steemit. I guess we would outrank every social network on the "sciency" scale.

Also in the freedom and decentralization supporters. :)

Thanks for sharing and following you now ;)

@Ozz

That's really a very informative article
Thank You for sharing

Well you've put the whole top 3 in that Headline, but to be honest I was attracted by the pic of the beautiful girl ... hahaha

That is always important, especially here on steemit.

But I put it in because just few days ago I had exactly this situation. I don't remember what is was about. Something like "5 things you can eat in the morning" and there was a pic of a half naked woman. Absolutely no connection to the "content".

I know; I did this gif





a couple of weeks ago ...
Within 30 seconds after submitting you already replied with: Following

Later on I checked my list of Followers and I had at least another 10 more

I certainly didn't reply with following, must be someone else :D

Yes, sorry. Was doing several things at the same time.
Anyway, maybe the gif 'WILL MAKE YOU' follow me, hahaha

I'm gonna intentionally avoid these now :-)

Click here to learn how to avoid clickbait :D

Because we all want to be loved! Yummmm 0:'-)

Lol. This article gave me a chuckle and taught me something new. Upped and followed, friend.

We live to learn!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58