PATSY

in #life6 years ago

I once knew a beautiful woman named Patsy. 60 years old, incredible blue eyes.
We happen to meet at Wilmington, North Carolina, in a very cozy hostel on a saturday morning.

IMG_20180901_193540.jpg

It´s funny how a stranger can change your point of view about life in exactly 30 minutes time. This lady fought against cancer twice, doctors who treated her said she would die in less than 2 years. But she refused to think this was the final statement. She hanged onto her life. By the time she told me this story she was celebrating 12 years of life, she is confirming every day that doctors are not always right. She was spending half of her retirement money, to do all the things she wanted to, like staying in a hostel and start a conversation with me, a stranger.

Eventually, we decided to go to a nearby cafe and grab a bite to eat, while continuing with our encounter.

I must confess am a very sociable type of person, like to chat a lot and have to accept that this time, silence was more important. We came to the point where I felt in the need to reveal a profound secret, one attached to the connection between my father and me. It involves forgiveness, how to care about our family in distance, and how important love is, speacilly when you have to say “I forgive you”.

Somehow, Patsy started to share with me her secret to face any fear, to become a warrior in this everyday battle or the way she chose to call it… “my philosophy about life”.

She stared at me and hit me with the first rule 👆 “When a door opens, go through it”.

I smiled.

And then while I was feeling rather strong with the first rule, she replied: * “and in your case, be aware always to find a place to heal…* (she looked around and punched me with rule number✌️) "maybe, NOW and HERE, this is your place to heal”.

And it was.

This is my way to thank this delightful incarnation of love, who gave me the best two advices a man can ask in this game we call life.

IMG_5432_1534615736223.jpg

St33m 0n, W0rld!!

Sort:  

Wow that is a really nice story of two people meeting at the right time. Than you for sharing. I found this post in the Pay it forward contest. @chekohler featured you in it.

Life is wonderful when you open up your heart and sometimes listen and talk to a stranger isn't it? what a nice story and experience, something that you can't have even after living for years in the library @len.real. thanks for sharing this wonderful story with us and I couldn't agree more with her... if the door opens, go through it.. you can always walk trhough it anywhere anytime.

found your post through @chekohler entry post in the pay it forward contest this week. Keep Steeming!

Thanx for passing by and comment!

What a wonderful story @len.real! That Patsy was a very smart woman!! My husband was diagnosed as well, and we did the same as Patsy and are living in Mexico (from Canada), enjoying every day to the fullest. And in regards to forgiveness ... life is way too short to hang on to things like that. Parents mess up all of the time, but it's up to us to move on and not let it affect our own lives. I'm so glad that you found Patsy, and I'm equally glad that I found your post :) I actually found it through @chekohler's entry to our Pay it Forward Curation Contest. Feel free to join us with an entry of your own anytime :)

Beautiful post!
Did Patsy ever tell you what she did or did not do for her cancer? Did she accept chemo? Or do something else?

I found your post today because @chekohler featured you in this week's Pay it Forward Curation contest. Keep up the great work!

Never asked about it. I took her word for granted, and I was more concerned about her philosophy, but i do have her on my phone contacts...maybe I´ll ask her and post something related to it. She is a beautiful human being, always filling her days with love

What ana amzing story and truely inspiring, if we actually take the time to find out more about people you'll be surprised at what the quiet ones have had to go through or achieved. Not everyone shouts out about their life on social media well the ones with actual lives dont.


I really liked your post and ive selected you as my @pifc (Pay It forward) Author of the week. You can find my submission [here](https://steemit.com/@chekohler/week-36-pay-it-forward-curation-entry) and more about the curation initiative [here](https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-36-pay-it-forward-curation-contest)

Thanx for taking time to read this post. Life is hapenning out there, probably we need to focus on what really matters!

Incredible. I've heard a few stories like this. How is it possible that doctors can fail so miserably on such diagnosis?

PS: I've found your post because @chekohler featured you in his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

well, doctors, in the end, are humans like you and me with virtues and flaws.

Congratulations @len.real! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46