You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Kohler Road Kids

in #life7 years ago

It is so good to read of kids growing up the same as in the old days.
If you can stand the mess, pour lots of water down a narrow track down the hill, will need a safe landing at the bottom, the kids slide down the hill in the same track, before long you will have a smooth rut that they can build up speed on. Then in pairs etc.
The neighbours kids were into w w 1, they dug deep trenches in one paddock, covered them with planks of wood and the dirt and the grass that was there.
It was strong enough to drive a tractor over. They slept, eat, and lived down there in the holidays

Sort:  

Ha ha ha! Mess! That word isn't in my vocabulary! If we get around to building that track I will post some pictures just for you!

LOL! I had quite a giggle as I read over the WW1 neighbor kid extravaganza, for there might be similar bunkers in the woods around here and at my friend's house. One of my favorite childhood stories that my dad told me was he and his uncles buried an outhouse on it's side on the edge of a strawberry field (My grandma and aunt hoed strawberries long ago), and they would lob dirt clod mortars when they opened the door toward the sky. I think that phase ended when they hit my Aunt Barb in the head.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59634.64
ETH 2590.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47