You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What

in #life7 years ago

I've always enjoyed art that was at least trying to be art. Like, did someone throw some stuff together and call it art? Then, it's probably not art? I think? I don't know.

But now you go and confuse me by carefully crafting an artistic representation of art that is not trying to be art. So you've created art that is trying to be art that is not trying to be art.

I think... yeah, I think that's art again.

My brain hurts.

Sort:  

Well, I've been sitting here playing dumb, but yeah, you're right. That's basically what I did, in a nutshell, whatever that means.

I'm not taking that "art" seriously though. This post was just an experiment. Some sleight of hand magic stuff. A shit post on the outside that explains a few things on the inside. I'm quite confident anyone who clicked already knows to appreciate what goes on behind the scenes.

I was trying to be light-hearted with my comment, not sure if it stuck.

For actual artistic enjoyment, the litmus test I use is "did I enjoy this without trying to enjoy it?"

The weakness of this test is that I do not enjoy all art... so it will throw some false negatives. Some of it, I just can't get into. Photorealistic paintings and drawings, for example, I just really don't like all that much... no matter what quality is involved. In general, the less something looks like a drawing or painting, the less I enjoy the work and the more I admire the skill of the artist instead.

I enjoyed your work today, but in the context of what it was trying to emulate, and in the context of the rest of your post. I enjoyed it as commentary about "pompus pricks" and their "anti-art" or whatever you want to call what they do. Did I enjoy it in the same context as I enjoy your other artwork?

No. That would be silly, and I'm pretty sure it'd be an insult to your other work.

I'm in the same boat. I like photography but I don't really enjoy the art that looks real either. It's not my thing, and that's why we don't see that on this blog. Even when I'm just working on characters, because I enjoy creating these monsters, I make damn sure it only slightly resembles a human.

I had a couple of comments come my saying the art is nice. It's either the reputation number that actually looks nice, or the wallet. Not the art. That was part of the experiment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64367.46
ETH 2522.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65