You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @NoNamesLeftToUse: Genius or Insanity?

in #life6 years ago

Oh wow. It's so great being on Steemit in these early days. It's like the beginning of computers all over again. Everyone's a nerd here. Someday that will change, but not today. We must enjoy it while we can.

I, too, remember my first experience with MS Paint. We had just had a new computer delivered with Windows 95 on it and it was the first program the salesman opened up to show us. I was going absolutely crazy with all the tools. The spray-paint tool was always my favourite... but I used everything. I worked on my "painting" for hours on end. Painting over it multiple times. I always saved it as the same file: "mymasterpiece.bmp". It was never the same, and I never saved old versions or anything like that. It was always changing.

A not-so-favourite relative of mine once looked over my shoulder as I saved the image and made fun of me, saying I should have called it "my mess."

I'll never forget that. It hurt. Even though I know now it really sucked, at that age I really was trying my best. Maybe that was the day I became a future developer instead of a future artist? I don't know. I'll never know. Probably not-- I've dabbled in digital art since and never quite acquired any real talent. To some degree I think it's something you just have to have inside you waiting to get out.

I see you've been playing with symmetry again.... Bravo. I just love your artwork, man. Thank you for continuing to manipulate pixels for us.

Sort:  

Manipulating pixels. I don't think I've been bored a day in my life since I came here. This story here might shed a bit of light on how I end up handling those negative comments, over time. You damn right a few simple words can change the course of someones life. I don't feel like a cocky prick for taking a shot at that so-called teacher. Not one bit. Give me a chance to prove myself, I'll do it. Why not? What else is there to do? They were probably just having a bad day.... one of many. I try to avoid those. I don't always succeed at that either. Oh well. Hey look! I'm rambling.

I just hope you're succeeding today, @NoNamesLeftToUse The Writer/Artist Himself.

I'm having a pretty good day today, mostly. One of my posts got noticed by someone important or something. I took a few hours off Steemit to do the life thing for a while, and came back to find a crap ton of upvotes on my post. It's a pretty good feeling. I wish more people would comment, though. Oh well. I shouldn't complain.

Ramble on, my friend. Life is more interesting with your words in it.

Looks like you got picked up by Curie. They work together and look for up and coming talent in the form of minnows. They'll give you nice little boost if they like what they see. I like what they do. They found me too, when I started. It's encouraging. You deserve it and I certainly can't be the only one to keep upvoting your work. I noticed majority of what you earned in the form of votes has come from me so far, up until this point. I got a chuckle out of that. You're not the only minnow I've been supporting like that. Feels good to help, so yeah, I'm succeeding today.

Sure, I'm wondering where everyone is. Noticing my votes and views are quite low today. Oh well. There's always tomorrow. I thought a did a good job here and still do. Success x2.

Yeah, I've done a bit of looking around since and figured out what @curie is. I am glad you think I deserve it. That means a lot; thank you. I do, too-- I don't really want to sound entitled, but I was really hoping that post would do well (obviously didn't realise it would be that well). I had this feeling when I pressed the Post button like I'd created something worth something.

Yes, you spend entirely too much of your voting power on me. I really appreciate your support, not only with your upvotes, but you are one of a couple people who kinda got me started here, and my majority upvoter by far. I still remember your monster upvote after I made my first comment on your blog after meeting you in chat-- that made my night. I don't know if you realise how cool that was of you.

By the way, are you ever coming back to chat?

I actually spread my voting power around a lot. These comments, I rarely use more than 10% power. My goal in the comment section is to always give out more than my self vote on the post. I usually beat it, by far. I also enjoy maximizing curation rewards for those who actually come here and vote on my post. It's a bonus I feel everyone deserves, especially those who feel like voting is pointless since they think they don't get much. Of course, people must earn it. I don't like voting for those who are clearly here to compliment me because they think there's money in it. I tend to see through right through that. I just avoid voting on a comment or two and quickly notice how they don't return with their nice fancy words.

Rambling.... rambling in chat isn't really my thing but I do enjoy making rare appearances. It just gets annoying when people are being negative and complaining about how everything is "so unfair."

Reminds me of a new employee who after a week is already asking for a raise and threatening to quit. Blah!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66991.04
ETH 3101.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74