Is it possible to make money on Steemit? 30 Days Steemit Experiment

in #life8 years ago

I decided to conduct experiment, if a simple guy, like me, can create a fully valid source of income from writing articles on Steemit? For this purpose I will be writing at least 1 post every day for 30 days.

I have always wanted much from life and dreamed about participating in big projects. In 2008 I lost everything, I lost my business and broke up with the girl I wanted to have a family with. Just in a blink of an eye I lost everything that I believed in, everything that I made plans for, it was as if someone took away the ground I stood on.


Image credit

Since then I've been living in startup mode for 8 years, creating the life of my dreams. When I say in startup mode, it means nobody pays you a salary twice a month, and every month you just don't know whether you will make some money tomorrow or not, whether you will be able to pay for the rent. Morally it's not easy to live in such a mode.

I had hundreds of goals and undertakings. During this time I gave up drinking and smoking, read a vast number of business books and books about personal growth, completed different trainings. But I still have a feeling that I am not moving on and nothing is changing.

If I look back and honestly analyze my results, I can say that I haven't done enough by now. Yes, I grew up a lot as a person, got great experience and internal force, but I am still far away from my dream as I was 8 years ago.

Sometimes I feel like I don't have enough strength to carry on and I think maybe it's time to give up, but every time I feel up to move on. Only my faith supports me and gives me power to continue. Perhaps, Steemit will become for me the base and let me rest for a while. When I look at most of the people I was growing up with, the most terrifying thing that comes to my mind is that I will lose my faith and give up, reject my dream and accept my life as it is.


“How long is forever?” – Alice
“Sometimes, just one second.” – White Rabbit


I see Steemit as a platform where people can do cool stuff and amazing projects, unlock their creativity. It looks like a very attractive dream and maybe I just live in a fool's paradise?


Image credit

I have already managed to make some money with two guides for the beginners (1, 2). Now I have 30 days to check if it happened accidentally or I can do it again. If I can make Steemit my source of income fully covering my expenses and, maybe, it will be enough to even make my dream come true.

My plan minimum is $1 000 for a living, plan maximum is $ 15 000, it will help me and my friends to achieve our big ambition. I will tell you about it in my next posts.

I am a simple guy, I even don't speak English (this post, as most of the others, was translated by a translator).  And if I do it, it means anybody can do it. I was never into cryptocurrencies, I don't have friends among whales, I am not a popular crypto-anarchist and certainly not a playmate))). I just want to do cool things valuable for the people and the platform. It'll be nice if someone appreciates my work and it will help me make my living of it and invest in quality of things that I am doing.

How can you support me?

Of course I will appreciate any upvote, if my posts seem interesting to you. Besides, I think these 30 days marathon will improve my writing skills that is why I will be grateful for any advice and feedback about how I could improve the quality of my posts.

I don't have any clear plan what I will write about these 30 days. I believe that you need to make a first step to see the way. My life is not a classical success story, the one you took as an example. But I believe that every person is unique and has something to share with others. And if you don't give up and keep believing in your dream, you will reach any heights you want. One day I heard somewhere - "All that came to your head can be done". From that moment I live with my faith in it.


Image credit

I have no idea what the results of this experiment will be like. Perhaps, I will just spend my last money in 30 days and will not make something really useful that will help me to earn on Steemit. And maybe I will fulfill the plan minimum with the first posts and be able to focus on the topics that I am really interested in, and not on those that might bring more money.

Thank you for reading my post, I would be very grateful for any feedback.

Sort:  

Our whole life is about struggling with yourself, about setting and achieving your own goals , changing your mind. There are rises and falls but the only rule I tell to myself is "never give up".
Thus I wish you never give up!
You will get pleasure from what you do once you'll realise, that step by step you pave the way to success

A good question. The REAL question though is if sbd will hold. at 0.8 it's already harder for people who make 10-20$/post. 60+ is still very good :)

Happiness is not at the end of the path. Happiness is the journey itself. Good luck in the experiment!

Absolutely!

Just saw this post. You have a beautiful name @boddhisattva. Really divine.

Hello @lehard

I think your experiment plan will work! Good luck with your 30 days!

I will keep an eye on your posts!

One question: What langues do you speak?

:) F

Thanks! I speak Russian

I am glad that your results are good. Hopefully you'll succeed. Then it means that someone like me could succed at such an endeavor as well. Perhaps I'll try sometime soon. But right now, I've resigned to translating articles. Since it brings more consistent income.

I think for clearity of the experiment you need to create a new account. But from another side you will spend these 30 days only to make 1 successful post to get followers on an new account...

So, this experiment will show only can a top users live thanks to STEEMIT. Because you are not a simple guy here:)

It's not a hate-post. Your example shows that we all can become a winners here, but step by step.

It is hard mode)) Maybe if I had some money to live

Simple guy ? Hmm really ? 200 + falow you LOL

Yes! He just did a lot of good for the whole Russian community

Ohh i don't mean he is not good person , i mean is not NEW account so experiment already failed !!! IS not as he register yestarday ...and good lucky with living from Steemit

Thank you Max)

I wish you good luck, though it would be interesting to monitor this experiment using a new account) I remember you started something similar earlier...

I just finished a similar experiment. After posting several times a week for a month - and doing a fair amount of curating - the liquid portion of my earnings amounted to about USD300 at today's SBD rates. Given another six months of working with this platform (and assuming the price of steem does not irreparably collapse) I suspect my liquid earnings here will be about equal with what I am accustomed to making from other online writing gigs.

So as a primary income, steemit at present doesn't cut it for me. But as a long-term investment and profitable hobby, it is proving to be very impressive. Hope your efforts prove as fruitful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60881.34
ETH 3378.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49