That Time I Poisoned Myself and had a Spiritual Epiphany

in #life7 years ago

HBWR.jpg

A few years ago was the apex of my experimentation with altered states of consciousness. At that time I periodically experimented with an assortment of natural medicinal plants in an attempt to grasp the mystic and experience something profound. I guess I was looking for something that I could never quite grasp.

Around this time I bought a small bag of seeds from an online vendor which contained the chemical LSA, which I had read is similar to LSD but that it occurs naturally in nature. The seeds were Hawaiian Baby Woodrose seeds.

Excited and a little scarred, I prepared the seeds by scraping off the outer shell which contains some sort of poison which causes nausea and other sorts of harmful effects to the human body and brain. After the seeds were scraped clean I crushed them into small bits and drank them down with a glass of orange juice and then I waited patiently.

About an hour later I started getting these incredible waves of sleepiness to the point where I could not stay awake and I reluctantly went to bed feeling as though my adventure had failed. I laid in bed for a while unable to fall asleep and growing more and more uncomfortable by the minute. I began to toss and turn as waves of nausea began to permeate my entire being. Maybe I hadn’t cleaned the seeds well enough? I opened my eyes and in the dim light I could tell that my vision was fucked for lack of a better word. It was blurred and the objects that I gazed at twisted and turned and rolled like waves in the ocean of my mind. All of this only served to increase my feelings of nausea.

I quickly got out of bed, grabbed a trash can and emptied the contents of my stomach while shaking and crouching on the floor. Strangely enough I felt fine immediately afterwards. Right as rain in fact, but thirsty. My god, I had never felt so dehydrated and thirsty in all my life.

I grabbed a glass of water and took a small sip and had one of the most influential moments of my entire life. It was as if I could feel each molecule of water traveling through my body hydrating each and every one of my cells. I took another drink and my mind’s eye was immediately flooded with images of water in rapid succession. Images of people and animals drinking water. Images of civilizations and cities being built around water sources. Deserts where plants only grow near water or which go to extreme lengths to conserve the little bits of water that they come across. It was as if all of my experiences with water were being consolidated into one powerful message “water is life.” It was an incredible experience and I remember being in a state of awe saying “oh my god” out loud as each wave of images flooded my mind and the message pounded into my consciousness over and over again.

desert.jpg

In that moment I found an appreciation for something that I had previously took for granted. I have always known on an intellectual level that I need water in order to live but I had never actually experienced waters life giving properties. Water allows all life to live. It was a simple yet profound message.

Please feel free to comment and discuss

Images from:
http://www.shamanic-extracts.com
http://www.amusingplanet.com/2014/01/huacachina-peru-magnificent-desert-oasis.html

Sort:  

You should watch this documentary too. Given your experience, it should have a greater meaning to you beyond just the "scientific" discoveries.

Thanks for the share. The concept of water memory is very interesting. It seems like there is more and more research taking place on the subject. Very cool

hey Leaky......
your post reminded me of something i saw.......
VERY SIMILAR........
check this out:
dont know if you know the "vice" documentary series.......but they are usually very good!

I just finished part 1 of the documentary - now I'm on to part 2. Thanks for the share, the video is very interesting. I've seen similar documentaries put on by BBC - Bruce Perry visits tribe shamans and does various medicinal plants. I'm not familiar with the Vice documentary series though and will have to check out other videos.

Congratulations @leaky20! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello, MAP13 has started! please go to "Six of the Best" MAP13 Minnow Contest [Vote Now - Win Upvotes]. Please look at the suggestions for all participants, especially creating a comment showcasing your best recent work. Good luck!

And don't forget, you can get further inspiration and assistance at the MAP Members Only Discord chatroom.

That's awesome! Thank you

Congratulations @leaky20! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This emphasis on the importance of water is interesting, I wish I learnt something from my trips with LSA. I also got morning glory and woodrose from a vendor. While morning glory seeds were less nauseating, they were both vile. I had the seeds laying somewhere for a couple of years before throwing them out. I think I prefer the Mushroom stories.

yeah the seeds are basically a trip of nausea haha

really reminds me of an experience of mine, but I can't pin down the memory.
The water part I mean, the feeling of the water energy passing very quickly into the body.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61875.77
ETH 2403.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64