You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ~Why~ We Hate "Follow for Follow" and "Vote for Vote"

in #life7 years ago

You make a very good point and may be on to something when you say that it is about being valued. Personally, I think that meaningful comments can be as valuable as votes. They create discussion and encourage authors to continue writing. Comments can push authors further into an idea and draw out more information. I like to think that authors themselves aren't just doing it for the money and so I do not vote for everything that I comment on. But i think that the comment still adds something even if there is no monetary value associated with it. I wonder if a post can become "trendy" if it receives a lot of comments - I mean even if there are no votes associated with the post?

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your many insights in this comment!

I know that I surely need the encouragement that comments like yours bring. When I read good and relevant comments, I know that someone has actually taken the time to read and think about what I've written. I find that tremendously encouraging.

You're absolutely right; I'm not in this just for the money. I want to leave a legacy for my children and grandchildren to be able to access one day.

Unfortunately, on Steemit, it seems as if "trending" has everything to do with the monetary rewards. This favors the whales and their cliques...

It would be nice if the "trending" algorithms could take into account the number and time spent of actual article readers.

Yes I agree :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60522.54
ETH 2602.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64