How my LOVE helped me cope with the loss of my mother.

in #life8 years ago

Hello Steemers!!

Here's another LOVE filled post by yours truly.

This one gets PERSONAL.

Just to give you guys some quick background.....I lost my mother and best friend at the age of 16. We had a very close relationship and pretty much did everything together. We used to go take Zumba classes together, we listened to all of the same music, wore each others clothes and to top it off she even worked at my high school. All of my friends and classmates adored my mother. She was young spirited, always smiling and simply an all around fun person to be around.

Here is a picture of her and I when we went on vacation, just the two of us, to the Hamptons.

Being that my mother was obviously a huge part of my life it was definitely a life changer to lose her. After all, she was my soul caretaker since I only saw my father on the weekends occasionally. This led to me having to grow up pretty fast. I didn't have anyone to help me pick and apply for college or help me support myself throughout school so it kind of sucked. But, what sucked the most was not having that motherly connection. On top of that, I had just moved to Florida and didn't have many friends so I was awfully lonely all of the time.

Thankfully, I met the love of my life and this turned things around A LOT for me. Not only did he turn out to be my best friend but he also added the family aspect back into my life that I had been so deprived of since my mothers passing. Now, his mother is like a second mom to me. She takes care of me just like I was her own. Because of him and his family, I didn't have to eat Thanksgiving dinners at Boston Market anymore or get myself gifts for Christmas anymore. And now 4 years down the road, I've been welcomed by his entire family and I cherish them just as if they were my own.

Here is a picture of us on our first New Years Eve together.

It is experiences like these that have led me to pursue a career as a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist. I truly believe that finding someone who you can trust and share every moment with is one of the most rewarding aspects of life. I believe that when we get old and gray and we reminisce on our past experiences that nothing will compare to the moments that we shared with our loved one, the person who you spent your entire life with, the person who you created a family with.

I want everyone to have a happily ever after and I think it is possible for everyone with the right mindset and knowledge.

Thank you all for reading <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54441.42
ETH 2433.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14