The Beauty of England – Our Kentish walks 2017 #photography

in #life7 years ago (edited)

My introduction post stated that I would be sharing more photographs about the places that I visit.

(My intro post: https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@laurabean/i-m-so-happy-to-be-here-my-first-post-introducemyself)

I am very lucky to not only live in a country full of beauty, but to live in the county of Kent which is commonly known as ‘The Garden of England’.

In the last twelve months my family and I have taken many spontaneous walks, too many to share in one post. It really is quite easy to find beauty in a lot of natural places and very good for the soul to acknowledge the life that you find. I always feel refreshed after a little bit of time with the world in its true form.

westmalling.JPG
This picture was recently taken at the beautiful lake found at Manor Park Country Park, West Malling.

The park used to be a part of an 18th century estate owned by Thomas Douce.

We found a variety of natural dwellings and wildflowers here. There are swans, ducks (and their babies) and moorhens.

singleton woods.JPG
There are many public footpaths in England. We like to drive around until we find a public footpath sign then we park the car and take a walk to see where it takes us.

This particular image was taken when my son and I did a random footpath walk in a rural area called Chilmington, near Ashford.

This tiny little woods was very inviting. It is very peaceful and as it is situated at the top of a hill, the views of the nearby countryside are amazing.

IMG_4271.JPG
All along the East coast of Kent there are so many wonderful places to visit that cost nothing.
We took a walk along the Estuary at Oare, near Faversham.

There is a natural water spring here so we filled our bottles from the spring. We could taste and feel how much cleaner it is than tap water!

We lifted up some of the rocks looking for life and came across this little guy:
IMG_4278.JPG

There are so many places that we have not yet discovered of course and I am very excited about all the new things we are going to find!

Sort:  

I'd love to go there one day.

Make it happen

Such neat photos! I've never visited England before, but someday when I do, Kent is on my list! I prefer the country to big cities. Is Kent a good place to stay if one wants to see "normal" life in England?

Thank you @morodiene!
I hope that you do visit someday. Don't get me wrong, England has some beautiful cities that I love: Oxford, London and Canterbury to name a few, but like you I get so much more from a rural setting.
If you want to experience "normal" life in England I would definitely recommend Kent.

It's Very close to London, Canterbury is amazing and has a lot of interesting history to learn, quite close is Margate which is a traditional seaside town with a sandy beach and amusement arcades and fish &a chip shops! :D
(Have I sold it to you yet? Haha)

Yes! Now I really want to make it there :)

Congratulations @laurabean! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61238.65
ETH 2634.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46