You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Transcendence through running

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I have for the most part been able to switch off my thoughts at times when I'm running, but I'm still very new to long distances. I run at a very slow pace (I'm now switching to longer strides). There's brief moments of "this feels pretty nice", but most of the time is spent droning out to my playlist. I did 9.5 miles on Monday, and I didn't enjoy it as much as I should have, probably because I was running so slow. Being out in 100 degree heat for a few hours takes its toll. The next time I run will be probably be at a faster, more manageable pace so I don't beat myself up. I tend to stare in the ground in front of me as I run and it helps me not to be overwhelmed at the overall distance. I like to focus on the time, and I find that the first hour goes by quickly.

Sort:  

Well, that was one time you had these thoughts (heat is really cruel). The more you run the better it gets. I must admit that the maximum I spent running was 2 hours. My goal is to run the half marathon in 1:30 hours so I just want to keep a certain speed and then it's ok. I think you're on the right way and have a lot of experience already! Keep going! What music you are listening to?

Mostly instrumental (Hans Zimmer) Think movie soundtracks. What about you?

Wow, it's funny how different tastes in music are. I hear house and metal, because its loud, fast and keeps pushing me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52