Be Confident, Not Arrogant

in #life8 years ago

“I am the best person for the job”, I said, confidently.

“I am the best person for the job”, I said, arrogantly.

That same line. I have said it many times.

Whatever the “job” might have been.

It was true, actually. I was the best.

But when was I being confident and when arrogant?

There are plenty of times I have been confident. Plenty when I have been arrogant. And a few times I have confused the two.

The words were exactly the same. Maybe even the tone. Although I doubt that.

Confidence sounds different than arrogance. When someone speaks with confidence, the words fall into the ear and heart of the listener differently than words spoken in arrogance.

I figured it out. Eventually.

Confidence is quiet. It does not need to shout. It can whisper and yet, be full of authority.

Confidence is self contained. It does not seek validation. It is sufficient unto itself.

Confidence is sustainable. It sustains the soul.

Confidence is internal. It is a flame that stays steady within the heart.

Confidence gives strength to myself and others. It is energizing.

Arrogance is different.

Arrogance is brash. It needs to prove itself.

Arrogance exerts. It needs to expend effort to justify itself.

Arrogance aggresses. It is not peaceful.

Arrogance weakens myself and others.

Arrogance is enervating. It drains away energy.

Confidence is what I need to grow. It gives me the foundation to learn and to expand myself.

Arrogance inhibits growth. It takes away my ability to be the best I can be.

Confidence arises from my heart. Confidence gives security and courage.

Arrogance balloons from my ego. This ego balloon can be pampered by praise or punctured by insults.

Confidence, I cherish it. I want to grow with it.

Arrogance, I witness it. I want to let it go.

I embrace confidence. I surrender arrogance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67698.91
ETH 3266.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64