10 things that are just not worth the effort

in #life8 years ago

At times, I feel tired. Exhausted even. I might have filled my day with busywork. Or I did not spend time on meditation which would have refreshed me. Or I could have just frittered precious hours on another CNN special. Whatever.

Here’s my list of things that are just not worth the effort.

Arguing

Has there ever been an argument that resolved anything? Arguing especially at high intensity of emotions when 2 or more people speak at the same time and don’t listen to what the other has to say. It is tiring. What’s worse, I feel awful afterwards. Both drained and wired at the same time. Better to take a step back, call a break then discuss when both have calmed down.

Trying to impress 

How long do you think anyone would continue to be taken in by any effort to impress? Better to spend time building skills and improving myself bit by bit (even 1%) daily. I strive to be better just a little at everything I do. Let time take care of the rest. And guess what, this actually comes across as being more impressive!

Eating lots of carbs (especially sugars) 

I love cakes, chocolates, doughnuts. I love a icy cold Twister or other brands of packed orange juice. I love rice and bread. Sugary satisfaction. But I hate those sugar highs that drop like lead into sugar lows. And I hate the heavy carby aftermath of feeling groggy and heavy, slow and lethargic. So, I eat carbs in moderation and sugar hardly ever.

Going to bed late

Any late night show addicts here? Or how about that thrilling book I can’t seem to put down? Or a pre-bedtime Facebook foray that ends up taking 2 hours? Been there and done that! The instant gratification that staying up late gives me also gives me insufficient sleep. Instead, I go to bed by 9pm so that I can wake up at 5am refreshed and zesty. I get a whole lot done in a much more creative and enjoyable way.

Holding grudges

Being human is about having opinions, sharing them and sometimes, having differences of those opinions. Or sometimes, hurting someone and being hurt. Much as I have tried in the past, sometimes I hurt someone I love, or I get hurt. I could carry and nurse a grudge against that person. I could remind myself why I felt hurt. I could dwell in the past. But I choose not to. Forgiving is a gift I choose to give myself and others. It is not because I am better than anyone else. It is just not worth the effort to crowd the present with the feelings of the past.

Taking unwise shortcuts

In my childhood home, my parents hung up a poster decades ago. They loved this poster and wanted my brother and me to read it daily and imbibe its message. The poster starts with “The elevator to success is out of order. You must take the stairs…one step at a time”. I used to argue that it was possible to take more than 1 step at a time. Why, I did it all the time! It took me a few years to realize that there are paths that I could take that seemed to be shortcuts to something I desired but were time wasters in the long run.

Accumulating unneeded material goods

It is great to own things. The biggies (necessities?) like a house and a car, clothes, books, decor items, gadgets etc etc. But beyond a point, material goods become a burden. Materialism is unsustainable in the long run. Both personally and for the planet. Each possession I have forges a bond between it and me. That bond takes my time, effort and expense to care for it. It takes up space. The more stuff I have, the more bonds I have. The more my attention needs to go into taking care of my stuff. Less time and attention become available for the worthwhile un-stuff.

Giving unsolicited advice

It is hard to resist. Offering advice when I see something I can help with. Something I KNOW I can do better. That is what I thought. I was wrong. That was just my ego. Most times, it is better to let others find their way, do their thing, discover their path. It is not worth the effort to offer advice to anyone unless they ask for it. Even then, I find it better to ask questions and let others find their own answers.
Ironically, this post is may seem like unsolicited advice! Well, it is not! It is an opinion piece. I insist!

Hustling 

It’s out there in the world, folks! The pressure to hustle. To show activity, energy, enthusiasm. To work hard to achieve your dreams. No time to reflect. Hustle, NAH!
It doesn’t work for me. The fast-paced single minded focussed activity that neglects other aspects of my life is not what I choose. How about taking a step back? How about spending time to be quiet, meditate, eat well, sleep well? How about being balanced and harmonious in life?

Pack mentality

It is tempting to find and belong to a group that resonates with me. That I share views with. People on the same wavelength. Like minded individuals. Not just tempting but comforting.

It can also be detrimental to my growth. Groupthink does not encourage individuality. It is very often a shortcut to laziness to think for myself, form my own opinions. Having a pack mentality can also make me less accepting of others.

May Steemit always be a place where diversity is celebrated!

That’s my list of things that are not worth my effort. With these out of the way, there is so much room and scope for things that are truly worth the effort!

What is not worth your effort? Feel free to comment…

Sort:  

This is an excellent list of things that I agree are not worth it! It is rare that I agree with every point in a post, but I agree with all of yours here.

One thing I keep in mind, and preach, is not to think about how you compare to others. People seem too concerned about how they compare to others in terms of wealth, happiness, weight, looks, job, etc. I tell myself, and others, that the only person you should compete with is yourself! Every week, try to do at least one thing that will improve either your body, mind or spirit. Don't worry about the other person, just keep improving yourself!

100% agreed kenny.

Don't care about comparing yourself. I try instead to ask "how can I utilize someone else's strengths to create a symbiotic relationship with mine?"

THAT always seems to make me smile and forget the ridiculous ego whispering in the ear...oddly makes me all warm and fuzzy inside too :P

Good tip on symbiosis!

Great list, just to give you some unsolicited advice, try not watching any TV for at least an hour before bed, no computer for half an hour, instead read a book.

The difference in quality of sleep is amazing, you will be able to go to bed at middnight and still wake up at 5 a.m. fresh as a daisy! :-)

CG

Can you do that day after day though? I find I can do get by on 5 hours sleep for a couple of days, then it's time for a catchup LONG sleep :-). Great advice on the no electronic devices before bed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67698.91
ETH 3266.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64