Cheat code to win at life

in #life7 years ago

Long story short, Life is what you make of it. Growing up I was always very small(still short) and trust me I heard about it...over and over. I was 104 pounds by the time I hit freshman year and after a semester of health required by law I was put into strength training. I had the class with a bunch of my close friends and a girl that I had a crush on so we did a lot of messing around instead of lifting. The girl I liked laughed about how skinny I was and that ticked me off a bit.

Sophmore year rolls around and I have strength training again, and I happen to have it with a cute senior girl. We ended up working out in the same corner and I remember her making fun of me for being skinny just like the other girl. When I was younger I had anger issues and I used that anger to go hard in the weight room. I started working out very hard, trying to put on weight and get stronger. By the time I started getting real serious about working out sophmore year ended and I was about to become a Junior. I was addicted to working out so I didn't want to stop but I didn't have the money for a gym membership so I did a bunch of body weight exercises and I did them at an insane level.

So I come into Junior year about 20 pounds bigger(20 lbs over 2 years) and I started getting compliments about my muscles because I have very little body fat making me look more ripped than most. So the compliments made me feel good and they motivated me to keep going. I finished my Senior year weighing around 137 lbs and by that time everyone knew I was strong. If I listened to what those girls said in the past and chose to be sad about it I probably wouldn't be where I am at now and I'm not trying to sound like a douche but I am proud of my accomplishments. If someone tells you that you can't do something, use it as fuel to prove them wrong!

This is just one example of the point I'm trying to make. Say if for some reason someone decides to be an ass and tag up your house with spray paint. I think a normal person(being normal is not good in a lot of cases)would look at that as one big negative and only a negative. I would look at that as a negative at first then I would think "Hey at least I get a new paint job". With this kind of mindset you get to add positivity to a negative situation. Resulting in you feeling better about a situation. For another example maybe your girlfriend or boyfriend breaks up with you, instead of being a sad mess, think about everything you gain from the situation. Freedom, more money, and most importantly you get to shed off some dead weight from someone who really wasn't meant for you. If you can add a positive to a bad situation you end up making yourself a happier person and doesn't everyone want to be happy? Use this brain hack to live a better life, hopefully I helped someone!

Sort:  

Nice way of looking at things. Thanks for sharing @laphoenixx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60708.09
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58