Toys go to Heaven, too! (Not safe for parents.)

in #life7 years ago

Think about the soft teddy your son has been cuddling in his sleep since forever. Or the cute doll your daughter carries takes everywhere. Or the pink dragon. The fluffy bunny with a missing tail. The little monkey in a faded circus outfit....
You know what I'm talking about. Every child has a favorite cuddly toy and its constant presence makes it as important as any other family member. But children outgrow their toys, as they all must, and then what happens with those discarded companions?
dolls.jpg
Personally, I'm not able to contemplate this moment which is why I was extremely disturbed to read about the Japanese custom of sending off no longer wanted toys with a proper funeral service at the temple. Heartbreaking as this whole idea might be, maybe it does make sense.
The idea is that the dolls and plushies children cherish while growing up accumulate memories, grow a soul of their own and as such, throwing them out when they're no longer wanted is a cruel thing to do. And it might bring bad luck on their former owners.
ningyokuyo_img.jpg
Toy funerals, known as ningyo kuyo, are very popular in Japan, and such rituals are held at both Shinto and Buddhist temples. On the chosen day, the priest performs a purification ritual over the discarded toys, recites a few sutras and then some of the toys are burned on a pyre. A few deemed to have some cultural value are kept on display at the temple, while the rest, sadly, make their way to the garbage dump after all.
ningyokuyosai.jpg
I guess now you understand what I meant saying this post is not safe for parents. I did not even considered taking a picture of my son's favorite teddy-bear for this post. The little guys has been with us for nine years and I've come to think of him as my third child. Just think of the time spent worrying for his safety. Like when we're at some airport – the boy is big enough to take care of himself, but I need to check and double-check the backpack, make sure the little teddy is safe.
Looking on the bright side, this is the child that I'll get to keep me company in my old age!

How much is the teddy in the window?

Abandoned toys have something tragic to them and over the years we've managed to save a few from their sad fate. As my son has a thing for teddy-bears, we've taken into our house some ragged worn-out teddies we discovered staring at us with their beady eyes from the window of a second-hand shop.
teddy2.jpg
Judging by their appearance it was obvious someone played with them for many years, they must have been someone's comfort toy. Until they weren't anymore. They were discarded, just like the old sweaters those shops sold.
Just take a look at the one with a Christmas hat. When I saw it in the window he looked terrible. I think he even had an eye missing. I don't think anybody would have bought it, but I had to save him from the dumpster. Give him a new home for a few more years.
I'm wondering if his former owner ever thinks of him anymore? I don't know, but maybe the teddies remember the kids who used to clutch at them in their sleep.

Thanks for readingrebecca-516397.gif

Sort:  


I know the importance of a toy all too well. My son, Caleb, has had this stuffed cat since he was first born. It was actually a decor item in his nursery but he finally asked to play with it and the cat instantly became a member of the family. This summer we had a sad misfortune when Caleb pulled "Poppy Cat" out of our already packed luggage at the hotel the night before leaving for home. We didn't know he got the cat out, therefore did not check to see if he was packed, and left him in California. This made for a very long flight home back to Texas. I called for several weeks to the hotel, hoping that they would find the little stuffed cat, but no luck. Caleb still gets upset when he sees a picture of his beloved Poppy Cat. To be honest, I was pretty sad too. I wanted to save the toy for Caleb's kids to see what their father cherished as a little boy.

Horrible story...a real nightmare!!!

I had a Barpapapa....i have no idea what happened to her. The only thing I consciously kept is the teddy I got for my 1st birthday. My niece had an issue with picking her fav toy. Like some children automatically latch on to just one. She finally found it....it was a fleece bunny. Imagine the drama when it was left forgotten on the beach this summer. There was no end to the tears.

And yes....i get emotionally attached to the damn things as well. Can't imagine anything worse then buring them.

I still have a doll from my childhood, but God only knows where it is...far too many toys around this place!

That was super interesting.

I had a pair of bunnies...

As we grow old, our interest changes and we should pass on the toys and gifts to someone needy.

That really is a bit sad :( I still have my fluffy dolphin that I got when I was a baby, and I think I might keep it forever :D But I do remember that we gave all the other toys away when I grew up.. I just don't have any idea where they went. Sometimes there are some charity actions when you can donate a toy and I thik that's a better way than throw them away.. or burn them :O

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50