You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Monsanto & Bayer Part 1: Genetically Modified Disaster

in #life7 years ago

It was worth reading the history of Monsanto, I had no idea they go so far back and were involved in so many criminal inventions. Thanks for putting things into perspective.

Sort:  

Their methods are disgusting, they will sue you if any of their GMOs contaminate your neighboring farm, and they will win! Because it's YOUR fault if the wind blows THEIR trademarked GMO's pollen into neighboring lands. Etc...

I've heard these cases have all but stopped, where they will refund the cost of new non-gmo seeds(though perhaps for less than they are worth?) Though they make you believe to be competitive in the market you'd need increased yield provided from a gmo and then they'll certainly sue you if you try to reseed your field as opposed to buying new seed. Same goes if you try to reseed their gmo after it overtakes your field. Last I heard there were few to no reseeders left having all been sued with perpetual litigation until bankruptcy

This is a great point which I will mention in my followup post @drabs, these monsters, the corporations, should pay for the acts they have committed! Thank you for your comment :)

Supposedly they do provide compensation for those whose fields have been overtaken(they aren't allowed to reseed the proprietary seeds), though I can't say which seeds are available and at what cost nor what compensation is provided and with what ease. I look forward to your next post

I need to look into this more, thank you @drabs for this perspective, I didn't see anything about compensation for anything so I will research further. See you in the next one :)

http://www.centerforfoodsafety.org/files/cfsmonsantovsfarmerreport11305.pdf not sure how relevant it is to today, also, https://monsanto.com/company/media/statements/gmo-contamination-lawsuits/ they say they've not really sued anyone though there are basically no reseeders left last time I had checked.

Good find @drabs, this is definitely part of my second post!

This is a great point @drakos, I despise corporate action on anything! Thank you for your comment :)

Glad you enjoyed @ladyrebecca, I was suprised about that as well.

They think handing our food supply to the same people who made weapons for multiple world wars is a good idea!!!!

Thanks for your comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61152.47
ETH 2665.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55