Palm Beach, bitch!

in #life6 years ago

With Bitcoin going to the moon (sort of - at least getting closer to 7000, instead of threatening to slide below 6000), we decided to enjoy the good life with palm trees, sandy beaches and outdoor jacuzzi. And I have the pictures to prove it! See here, palm leaves gently shading my sun chair on a beautiful day (finally!).

IMAG2550.jpg

Before you feel the need to point out that Bitcoin is nowhere near the moon and it’s not a good time for an exotic holiday, I’ll confess that we’re not in Hawaii and all the pictures were taken at a place called Therme, ‘Europe’s biggest urban beach’, on the outskirts of Bucharest!

IMAG2576.jpg

To my surprise, the place was indeed great! It opened a couple of years back, yet we’ve never been there before as I was under the impression it’s one of those fancy pools where bikini-clad young women go to take selfies by the pool. What I didn’t know about was the family oriented area with a maze of amazing water-slides. A ten-year old’s idea of paradise!

IMAG2598.jpg

IMAG2608.jpg

We’ve been there for seven hours, six of which my son was either on the slides or in the pool (asking when are we going back to the slides!). If there’s one thing I can complain about those slides it’s that I only found two I could go on without having a heart-attack - actually just one I felt brave enough to go on my own, without supervision from a responsible young person. I am sure all slides were reasonably safe and the even kids smaller than my own seemed to have a tremendous fun, still I wouldn’t go anywhere near a slide with a sudden drop. I understand how they’re supposed to work, but, somehow, I don’t trust the laws of physics that much - not even gravity.
I know that makes me an uncool Mom as far as the boy is concerned, but I figure he’s better off having a scaredy-cat of mother, than no mother at all - God knows what might happen to me on one of those thingies!
So I spent much of the time in one of the pools, getting a bit of exercise - much needed to someone like me who spends a lot of time in front of the laptop.

IMAG2563.jpg

I was ashamed I didn’t take the kids there earlier, so now that I know how amazing this place we’ll have to go more often. At some point, my son will figure it out that the fun part with the slides is indoor and they’re open in winter, too. Hopefully, by winter, Steem will be at a price decent enough….
As I’ve said in earlier posts, we do like to travel whenever possible, yet being close to home has the advantage of being stress-free. No need to worry about getting back to the hotel or missing a bus and getting stranded in the middle of nowhere. At some point, I saw on somebody’s watch it was getting late and we’ll be missing the free bus back to town, but we were all having so much fun I decided to ignore the time, go back to the pool and relax. We’re home, we’ll figure something out!

Thanks for reading

rebeccanew.png

Sort:  

Really love the indoor slides, I don't have to be 10 to enjoy it. Would love to have such facilities here in Ghana. Enjoy milady.

Maybe you will someday. We didn't use to have such things in my country either...

Hopefully soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85