A woman's got to do what a woman's got to do (Ulog#1)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Today that meant painting some walls around the house. A complete change from the past few days spent on a whirlwind trip to Prague and some great concerts. The fun part of life – walking around like the consummate tourist, buy souvenirs, have a coffee in a nice place.
Normally, today would have been a day of rest, but once back we discovered there's literally no place to put up the new posters bought on this trip. The only conceivable option was a wall covered in Angry Birds posters and drawings, which, once taken down revealed the forgotten mess of scribblings dating a few years back when my son was small and entertained himself drawing on the walls.

vopsit2.jpg

OK, let's clean this wall. No big deal, three years ago we managed to paint most of the house on our own, so at least we knew what we needed to buy. And since we had enough paint we ended up retouching other walls – part of the kitchen, a bit here, a bit there. It's not a professional job, but the house looks much better and – the most important thing – we didn't have to pay for it! Just me and my daughter, @honeydue, who provided the entertainment by pretending to be a professional painter, while I played the part of the useless lady of the house!

vopsit1.jpg

Those who follow my posts know I'm not a feminist so this isn't about what women can do and how they don't need no help from a man. I would have accepted and even demanded some help, but being a single mother means there's no one I could ask. A very successful woman would've afforded to pay a real worker, but I'm not that either. As it is, we have to decide what we want to spend our money on and my priorities are clear – a family trip to see a once-in-a-lifetime concert, yes, that's justified. Paying someone to do a job we could manage ourselves – that's not something I can accept – at least not at this point in my life. Sure, when cryptos go to the moon I'll pay someone to polish my Lamborghini every day... but, till then...
Since it was a do-it-yourself day, I tried my best to fix the wall around the bathtub to prevent leaks to the downstairs neighbors. I'm still waiting for the stuff to dry to see if it's any good.

vopsit.jpg

Obviously, the main reason to all this work was money, but there's something else to it. I hate women that are too damn delicate to do anything that might be considered a man's job. I'm not talking about lifting a couch here, but simple things like changing a light-bulb or trying to figure out what's wrong with the Internet router. It's a weird combination of helplessness and entitlement that's been drilled into their brains. Like waiting for the husband to take care of the weeds in the garden, even if the woman herself does not work. Yes, she'd have plenty of time to take care of the job, but... that's a man's work! And lots of men buy into this as it gives them the opportunity to feel macho! 'Look, honey, I changed the light-bulb for you. You can rely on me!'

The wall is now clean enough to display these phenomenal posters we bought in Prague!

vopsit3.jpg

Now that the job is done, we can look forward to relaxing in front of the TV watching a football game, beer in hand – just like some very tired handymen would do! I'm not crazy about football, but it's the World Cup after all. And with all the betting and the contests on Steemit, the games are even more interesting. All the women in my family enjoy a good game … and beer!

Thanks for reading

rebeccanew.png

Sort:  

Sure, when cryptos go to the moon I'll pay someone to polish my Lamborghini every day...

I look forward to such a day as well.

You seem to have done a great job. The last time I paid someone to paint my small house, I regretted it. He stiffed me $ 220 USD only for me to realize that I could have done the job myself...

Same here - professionals charge a lot of money, while buying all that we needed for this little job only cost the equivalent of $15.

Now that it's true value.
Have a good weekend!

hear hear!! I am in complete agreement. If I can do it myself, I will and if I can't, then and only then will I ask for help.

What a great family trip! I bet you all made alot of memories too. It sounds like it was tons of fun and the posters look perfect

Buying posters is sort of a family tradition - wherever we go we seek out the kind of shops that deals in such stuff... even the little one has his own collection of gaming related posters!

That's a fabulous idea! Perfect keepsakes and most of them are works of art

Nice work! Its cool that your honeydues mum! I love it that all kinds of people are in on crypto :) and the majority are D.I.Yer's!

i like it and thumbs up friend, A woman can do everything in life, because you gave a lesson to all that do it your self. Someone Said, "You can Do it if you want to do it". Good job, keep it up and all the best friend

QmVj7BVkLBQH65bgwPMzNupMboEP1tq6c13oREyq36ZMft.png

Thank you for awesomeness. I put the screenshot just for bullet one as we try to create a trend for the word ULOG in the search engines as well

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Nice work! I, too, painted my own house and found it to be pretty fun and a satisfying experience.

Definitely fun!

ITs a really informative and creative content.keep it up

I love industrious women like this...hey @ladyrebecca, you are really a blessing and a lesson to the whole world

Tts good to sit down and watch the football with an ice cold beer in your hand, ....while yer women do the painting...
😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87