I'm in America!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I'm finally here! It's finally happening!

I am now officially living in America. I thought this day would never come.

I know it's been a while since I've posted but I've been super busy with my big move to the United States. On the first of August my boyfriend, @anarcho-andrei, flew up to Canada to accompany myself and my son Traven on a super long 39 hour road trip from Edmonton, Alberta to Montgomery, Alabama. Definitely the longest roadtrip I've ever been on. It took us a total of four days, driving about 10 hours every day. We got to see the entirety of Saskatchewan (which we nicknamed Stanley Tucci), North Dakota, Minnesota, Wisconsin (yes we stopped for cheese), Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Tennessee, took a detour to Atlanta so Andrei could get his car and finally we made it to Montgomery.

38446396_1760134227397862_8194708875333599232_n.jpg

Luckily my kiddo was in good spirits throughout the whole trip. I was proud of him. He even did alright in the hotels, which I was worried about because he has a tendency to wake up in the middle of the night and party.

We also stopped at a huge children's museum in Indianapolis to let him out and run around. There was a surprising amount of people there and a lot going on and my son managed to hang in there for a good hour before getting overwhelmed so that was another proud mama moment for me because honestly, even I was getting overwhelmed by the chaos in there. Lol.

38612529_1138612012929567_593847948148736000_n.jpg
38536197_1879841928747831_3645667308560449536_n.jpg
38462831_1737066073058101_4405736542673305600_n.jpg

But here I am. I finally made it. It's been a pretty busy few days with getting my fancy new American phone, registering for my classes at school (which I'm super stoked about), getting my kid all signed up for daycare, getting his bedroom all set up etc. It's been a little hectic but I think we are all settling in nicely. My kiddo seems to really like Andrei so that's a bonus for sure. It was a little strange being here for the first few days because I felt sort of overwhelmed and out of place because I'm in an entirely new city, in a new country, away from everything I've ever known. But luckily, I have my boyfriend and that makes all the difference in the world. It'd be a whole other story if I was completely alone. XD

IMG_6707.JPG

But the best thing of all is... No more long distance relationship! Yay! We can be a normal couple and live in the same house and see each other all the time. God, I'm so happy about that. I know I'm not going to take anything for granted when it comes to being with Andrei. You never really realize how much you miss the small things until you can't physically be with the one you love whenever you want to be. How much you'd give just to eat breakfast with them in the morning. It's a surreal feeling being here now without that dreaded time clock counting down in my head like when I'm on vacation and I gotta go home in a week and will have to be without him for months and months all over again. Thank God that's over. XD That was so sad. Oh so sad.

So here I am everyone! All settled in the South. Orientation at AUM starts on Wednesday and then classes start the Monday after. So let's do it. :) I have a good feeling about this. It's all blue skies and sunshine from here on out. Finally.

Sort:  

I hope you'll enjoy your stay in the US.

Congrats! Have fun and enjoy, you two look happy together. Welcome to USA! We aren’t all horrible :)

It's always nice to hear of someone making steps ahead in their life. Congratulations. With everything going on, remember to save bandwidth for school. You'll thank yourself later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56836.82
ETH 2341.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41