The Year That Was 2017

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Happy New Year 2018!

It's 30 minutes into the new year now, the fireworks display outside my apartment had ceased and everyone at home was asleep since 11 pm. Ah, peace.

For the past couple of weeks, I have been reflecting on the events that have taken place in 2017 and I must say that it was actually better than what it had appeared on the surface.

Car Trouble
My car was in its 6th year in 2017, clocking a mileage of about 150,000km. Issues started from end 2016 itself with parts wear and tear happening one after another. Thank goodness things went back to normal by August.

The highlight of this was the time when we were travelling around Chinese New Year and its engine died on us about 100km away from home. That was the first and hopefully the last I rode in my car on top of a tow truck. On the upside, I won a lucky draw at the mechanic's place when I had to get my air-cond compressor changed. That was a huge relief.

Financial Challenges
The car troubles caused a huge dent in our finances and each month is a challenge managing the household cash flow. The damage was equivalent to about a year's worth of the hire purchase. We toyed with the idea of getting a new car but decided against it considering that we only have a couple more years before the car is paid off. Things are far from over but I am thankful for we still manage to pull through every month.

K-Drama

I watched my first K-drama in April 2016, just to see what the hype was all about - they were actually pretty good! Early in 2017, my group of friends started raving about this drama "Goblin" and went on and on about how good looking the male lead was. I went from a non-fan to a huge fan of Gong Yoo for the next 7 months :)

So how was watching K-drama beneficial?

  • I picked up a bit of the Korean language and learned a new culture. There are actually a lot of words very similar to the Chinese language.
  • I was inspired to look better due to the influence of the pretty leading ladies.
  • A little bit of good looking distraction took away the stress of everyday life.

Another Child on the Way

I found out that I was pregnant with our third child sometime in July. We were overjoyed! Double joy when we later found out that the baby is a girl. I've always wanted a sister for my daughter because her girl cousins are at least 10 years older, so it's nice to have a sister closer to her age. Fingers crossed, I hope the baby will be healthy and normal and the rest of the pregnancy and delivery will be smooth like the previous ones.

Worries About the Future
Perhaps it's due the hormones, I started developing worries about the future:

"Will we be able to afford another child?"
"How are we going to manage when we get the keys to our new place next year?"
"What if I lose my job?"

Turns out my worries were valid because not long after that I got news about some restructuring in my company which translates to a pay cut but that also means less working days. I was upset at first but after putting more thoughts to it, I realised this could actually be a good thing for I now have time to explore other opportunities and I would also get to spend more time with the baby when she arrives.

Hopes, Opportunities & Soul Searching
I realised that the challenges we faced in life are not always bad if we choose to look at them positively. So many doors had opened as I looked for new opportunities. While not all of them are suitable, I am grateful for the things that turned up, with the Steemit platform being one of them.

Along the way, I have also met a lot of new friends who had been most helpful and had guided me in my soul-searching. One of the ladies I met told me that I need to let go and make peace with my past in order to move forward. She had also advised me to stop discounting myself and when I start telling myself that I am worth it, good things will start flowing in.

Turns out she was right after all. One thing's for sure, I stop having car troubles after heeding her advice.

Here's to a better new year ahead!

Sort:  

I LOVE Gong Yoo TOO! Super obsessed with him!
Glad that you were optimistic about your life challenge, and congratulations on your third child <3 Lots of love and happy new year!

Thank you! Lol i was obsessed with Gong Yoo too, but no time for him now with so much going on. Hope he will release a new movie this year.

congratulation on your 3rd child! Followed you.

Thanks @kokuryo. Happy New Year!

Happy New Year to you. I love korean dramas too especially Goblin. Congratulation on your 3rd child. May 2018 be good to all of us. By the way, have you seen Oh My Venus...

Thanks and Happy New Year! Nice to meet another fan. I haven’t watched Oh My Venus but heard lots of great stuff. Will definitely put in my to watch list.

Yeah you should watch this one too...Bride of the water God! Hahaha

Hahaha.... a lot to catch up! Thanks for the recommendation!

thanks for sharing your 2017 highlights and low moments. glad that you pulled through. all the best with your pregnancy! :)

Thanks! Btw any signs of the baby yet?

thank God not yet! was working for the past few nights. had a friend on standby. I guess this baby is going to get the RM200 worth of shares from Najib's 2018 Budget ;)

Smart! Trust them to choose the best time to make their grand arrival. Looking forward to see your announcement post.

We will always be facing financial challenges in our lives. Don’t worry too much. You will manage. I know you will 😉.

Cheers to you and your growing family. A new baby is like the beginning of all things - a dream of possibilities.

p/s: annyeong haseyo 😉

Kamsahamnida for your kind words. Yes i believe in that too - new baby new beginning. Rezeki aside, you’ll sort of push yourself to explore further. Happy new year!

Thank you for sharing...Wishing you a happy new year:)

Happy new year to you too!

Love reading your post. Feel like beating the same heartbeat somewhere somehow. Congratulations for your upcoming baby girl and yes, things will get better :)

Thanks Jade. Must be the one thing we have in common - kids!

Wow you have three? Congratulations on the latest pregnancy too! Bless your pregnancy to be smooth-sailing and baby to be perfect! I salute you and must learn from you! Looking forward to read more from you, fellow supermom! :)

Thank you! I do not know how 3 will be like yet but my friends with 3 kids are still very much alive! Lol. I think when u have one you will put all attention on them. When you have more you will find shortcuts. Like allowing them to self feed very early, getting them to help with stuff around the house and allowing them to be independent as early as possible. You can too!

Yes must learn from u all who have more than one! :)

Haha Goblin also just finished the episodes on Singapore Channel 8 last week.

Did you watch? 😬

Yaya watched most of it.

Yup when dealing with voices of "you're not good enough", deliberately choose to believe that "you are enough" and you are worthy of good things. You will have the grace to go through all trials. Congratulations on your upcoming girl! :)

p/s: Oh btw I watched Goblin and am a fan too! haha

Hi another fan of Goblin!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56477.82
ETH 2390.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33