The Winter Shelter is Opening a Bit Early

in #life7 years ago (edited)

T



emperatures have gone down quite sharply in the last few days and so Gemeente Amsterdam is opening the Winter Shelter a couple of days earlier. In fact, the first time I was here in winter 2014, it didn't open until 18th of December. Last year it was 1st of December.

The note in the photo says "winter opvang gaat 28 Nov Open" - Winter Shelter will open 28 November.

The global warming in effect!

So, now after my next night in at Stoelenproject, I will be in for 3-4 months at the winter shelter. It is not that great, kicked out by day, and patted down by night on entry, but dinner and breakfast, shower and bed. Better than the half the time searching for a safe place to sleep, and complicated access to washing facilities at least.

I came back to Amsterdam because I knew this was coming. Getting a welfare payment requires first a record of where I am sleeping. The DWI, the dutch welfare agency, administers the winter shelter, so it bypasses this rather silly step, and I can get a payment which I will be powering up until I have enough to properly relocate to Novi Sad, my planned destination, which I learned about thanks to @deearchi 😎

So the good news is I sleep warm and dry every night from now. w00t!


We can't stop here! This is Whale country!

Loki was born in Australia, now is wandering Amsterdam again after 9 months in Sofia, Bulgaria. IT generalist, physics theorist, futurist and cyber-agorist. Loki's life mission is to establish a secure, distributed layer atop the internet, and enable space migration, preferably while living in a beautiful mountain house somewhere with a good woman, and lots of farm animals and gardens, where he can also go hunting and camping.

I'm a thoughtocaster, a conundrummer in a band called Life Puzzler. I've flipped more lids than a monkey in a soup kitchen, of the mind. - Xavier, Renegade Angel

*

All images in the above post are either original from me, or taken from Google Image Search, filtered for the right of reuse and modification, and either hotlinked directly, or altered by me

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.57 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Glad to hear you're surviving. Your posts are helpful, to learn how to deal with such situations. I hope that through your writing, and with Steemit rising you will be able to have a better situation. All the best.

Using Steem as a store of Value? Nice. I still suggest keeping some of that money in SBD. 10% APR? Yes, please! Also a bit protected against volatility. :-D

Anyway, I plan to do "A beer a day" thing, and hope you'll join up. :-D

Steem Power... It really depends - I would spread it differently if it weren't for the 13 week power down schedule. If I can get a job it would be even better. I am not just looking for a savings plan but also the lesser liquidity and progressing further up the vote power ladder, having more influence.

Plus as my SP increases so does my curation reward. Since coming to Amsterdam I have been curating a lot more.

Yeah, getting something that pays me real moneys is high on my list of priorities as well, so far I have the translation thing I am doing for DASH, and this blockchain project, that I am working on... I really hope that we get it to the launch phase soon.

Woot woot ! Keep steeming on ! ♨👍♨

I'm really hoping the price of Steem goes up high enough so you can lift yourself out of your current situation. That will be awesome. :)

it could, too!

Food, shower and bed...the basic necessities, yeah? Glad you've found a warm spot. I do not like thinking you're cold on the street Loki. Take care of yourself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94